September Wrap-Up

September – my favorite month! It has nothing to do with the fact that my birthday falls in September, though – nothing at all. 😉 Now, September has more meaning for me – we are starting to usher in fall, and the fantastic weather that comes along with it. Temperatures were still high throughout most of September here, though, and I kept to the house during the Silver week holidays (reading binge, what else?)! So, while I say goodbye to September, here’s my wrap-up for the month:

First off, Goodreads Reading Challenge:

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Krutula has
read 206 books toward
her goal of
250 books.
hide

15 full-length books and 1 re-read (Cross my Heart and Hope to Spy)

Also, this was a month for read-a-thons, with Read to Bingo in the first week, TGTRAT in the first weekend, and then TackleTBR for half of September. Basically I got plenty of books off my backlist TBR.

[Moreoer, I realized I have already read more books in these 9 months than I did over the last year, so I call it a win so far. Also, guess what? My all-time reading count is now 2000+ books.]

https://media.tenor.co/images/b9b49cff42de38c1fb04e90f8b718596/raw

Books I loved

The Female of the Species Bright Smoke, Cold Fire (Untitled, #1) A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2) Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5) Uprooted

The Swan Riders (Prisoners of Peace #2) Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls, #2) The Night Circus

Books I liked

Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble, #2) A Place Called Here Frostblood (Frostblood Saga, #1) The Unexpected Everything Gamescape: Overworld (Nova Project, #1)

Walk on Earth a Stranger (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #1) Like a River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #2)

Books that were good but could have been better

I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl


The Female of the Species A Place Called Here Frostblood (Frostblood Saga, #1) The Unexpected Everything A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2) Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5) Uprooted The Swan Riders (Prisoners of Peace #2) The Night Circus

As I said, because of the read-a-thons, I focused more on my TBR books than galleys this month.

Progress: 49/26 !!


Retellings Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble, #2) Bright Smoke, Cold Fire (Untitled, #1)

Urban fantasyA Place Called Here

High fantasy Frostblood (Frostblood Saga, #1)  A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2) Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5) Uprooted

Historical fantasy Walk on Earth a Stranger (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #1) Like a River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #2) The Night Circus

Progress: 94/100


 Walk on Earth a Stranger (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #1) The Night Circus

Progress: 34/52


The Swan Riders (Prisoners of Peace #2) has a canonical bisexual protagonist
Progress: 18/6



Since this is a point-based challenge, I’ll break it down

Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2) – 2 pts
A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic #2) – 2 pts
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) – 2pts
The Swan Riders (Prisoners of Peace #2) – 2pts
Like a River Glorious (Gold Seer Trilogy #2)  – 2pts
Progress: 146/51 points


Futuristic dystopia The Swan Riders (Prisoners of Peace #2) Gamescape: Overworld (Nova Project, #1)

Progress: 22/11


Progress: 8/11



Anything before 2016

Walk on Earth a Stranger (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #1) The Night Circus

Progress: 45/100


Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble, #2) The Female of the Species I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl Bright Smoke, Cold Fire (Untitled, #1) Gamescape: Overworld (Nova Project, #1) Walk on Earth a Stranger (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #1) Like a River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #2)

Progress: 124/100


The Swan Riders (Prisoners of Peace #2) for a bisexual protagonist

[P.S. Walk on Earth a Stranger (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #1) Like a River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #2) though these books don’t have a POC protagonist, it deals with issues of racism during colonization of America]

Progress: 44/26


The Female of the Species I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl The Unexpected Everything

Progress: 49/21


Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble, #2) is a Sleeping Beauty retelling

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire (Untitled, #1) is a Romeo-Juliet retelling

Progress: 23/26


Gold Seer Trilogy read till the 2nd book

Progress: 11/12 series


 

The Swan Riders (sequel and possibly last book of Prisoners of Peace)

Rose & Thorn (most recent sequel of Ash & Bramble )

Progress: 19/7 (Expert series reader)


GRAPHIC NO ICONS

No progress on this front


The Book Nympho No new audiobooks read this month.

Progress: 9/15 audiobooks


Also, I had a Top Ten post for my Fall TBR, and spoke about my blogging experience. I was meant to do a Books that Travel post this month when I went to Kinchakuda in Saitama, Japan to see the field of red spider lilies, but I forgot to take pictures with the book (silly me!). Oh well, you can still see the brilliant red blooms. I was a bit early in the season to see them, so most were still not fully bloomed, though.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And that’s all for September. Wishing you all a spooky October, and plenty of nice autumnal reading weather. 🙂

One thought on “September Wrap-Up

  1. I love September with the change of the weather, although it is still warm here now for October. It looks like you got a lot of reading done this month. I have The Nigh Circus, but haven’t read it yet, I will need to move it up on my TBR list. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

