Shouting from the Shelftops #9

Shouting from the Shelftops is a bimonthly feature to gush over book news that come to my attention, to celebrate good news amidst whatever the year is delivering to you. The basic mood for these posts is just Enthusiastic Screaming.

Heya! It has been a month and there has been so much awesome news in all that time!

Dark and Deepest RedThere’s a new retelling by Anna-Marie McLemore!

Okay, I haven’t read Hans Christian Andersen’s The Red Shoes but I am familiar with the concept of dancing shoes that make the wearer dance until they are dead (thanks to Supernatural), but honestly just the words ‘ fairytale retelling’ are enough to get me to add a book to my TBR, plus this is Anna-Marie McLemore so obviously I am very very EXCITED!!

Image result for the office take notes gif


Rebel (Legend, #4)Legend #4 is coming soon!

Now this isn’t exactly news since the continuation of the Legend trilogy was long past announced, and I was aware of it, but recently the cover was released, and I just needed to scream about it here, okay! It has an October release so it is not that far, and with how the Legend series had initially ended, I just want my babies to be safe during this book? Though, I must admit, I am excited to have Eden Wing as one of the main characters in this novel.


The Shadows Between UsAnother badass girl courtesy of Tricia Levenseller whoo!

Tricia Levenseller’s new protagonist for her book ‘The Shadows Between Us‘ has a checklist:

1) Woo the Shadow King.
2) Marry him.
3) Kill him and take his kingdom for herself

“Eighteen-year-old Alessandra Stathos, the second daughter of a minor nobleman, makes a plan to seduce, marry, and kill the king, then rule the world… and only love can stop her.”

Image result for you're doing amazing sweetie gif


Wicked As You Wish (A Hundred Names for Magic, #1)Wicked As You Wish‘ has a cover already!

It was just in the last post that I was screaming about Rin Chupeco having another upcoming book, and already since then it has a cover, and Chupeco gave us a run down of little facts and some fancasts, on Twitter.

You can go read her whole thread from here:

And this book releases March next year! I have a galley but I’m sorely tempted to read it immediately (I am trying to save it for later, because there are more immediate galleys to be read)

Image result for screaming gif


Updates on The Bone Season TV series!

The time between the announcement of a book adaptation and the actual release/trailer/promo is a long and tense one, with we fans always waiting for little nuggets of info to drop. So it gives me a bit of relief when I see some update, however small, like the one Samantha Shannon posted recently:


Villains #3 is a go y’all!

TBF, I don’t remember if Victoria Schwab had confirmed this earlier, but recently she was talking about the projects she is working on, and there was proper confirmation (as opposed to an earlier maybe) that there is going to be a third novel in the Villains series!!!!!

You already know how much I loved Vengeful, and I am excited to see what next adventures are in store for Victor and Mitch and Sydney (and also her new friend). Also I am VERY INTERESTED in the ‘Redacted’ ones on her list as I am always invested in each of her books.

Image result for looking sideways gif


Let’s appreciate Charlie Bowater’s artwork!

I am a big fan of Bowater’s work – and I am so happy to see her making official character designs for some major series, like the ones she is doing for The Last Hours. There was Cordelia Carstairs published a while back, and now recently one of James Herondale’s was posted by TMI source!

I mean, look at this emo dude! Also, the lovely details in that illustration! I AM IN FREAKING LOVE Y’ALL!

Image result for heart eyes gif


Panic (Panic, #1)There’s going to be a Panic adaptation!

Okay, there have been mixed reactions to Lauren Oliver’s novel about teens having a high-stakes game that keeps on raising the danger level as it goes on, but I had liked it a lot so I am excited to see this come alive as a series by Amazon. I mean, thrillers usually translate well for the screen so I am optimistic about it! The cast is pretty much new to me, as I haven’t seen any of their former work so this will be interesting.


Which news got you the most excited?!

One thought on “Shouting from the Shelftops #9

  1. Pingback: May 2019 Wrap-Up | YA on my Mind

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.