Review: Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights
Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I did not like this book at all. The characters, the writing, the plot – there was nothing redeemable about it. I didn’t like Heathcliff, nor Cathy – both were so selfish and intent on destroying others’ lives. Other characters are either superfluous or overreact too much. And the drama – good heavens! Did any sane person even behave like that? This book was a chore to complete reading – and I had to, as this was my second attempt at reading it. It’s my one fault that I endeavor to never leave a book once started. It would put me off classical literature forever had I not read Emma, Pride and Prejudice and Oliver Twist quite before and know that there is good literature too. Never reading anything else of the Bronte sisters, that’s for sure.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Wuthering Heights

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I was ‘Forced’ to Read | YA on my Mind

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.