Stacking The Shelves #95

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly haul meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews & Reading Reality. It is about sharing enthusiasm for the new books added to our shelves – be it physical, ebooks, galleys or borrowed from the library.

Though this is a weekly haul meme, *I* will be doing this fortnightly

Okay I definitely went overboard this fortnight *sobs*

Netgalley

The First SisterThe First Sister by Linden A Lewis

Combining the social commentary of The Handmaid’s Tale with the white-knuckled thrills of Red Rising, this epic space opera follows a comfort woman as she claims her agency, a soldier questioning his allegiances, and a non-binary hero out to save the solar system. Gonna buddy read this with @spiravirgo

Wave, Listen to Me! Volume 1 Wave, Listen to Me!, Vol. 1 by Hiroaki Samura

Interested because of the just-release anime! Minare thought she was just venting to a stranger when she told a guy at a bar about her man troubles. It turns out that man works at a radio station, and the next day she’s shocked to hear her grumbling broadcast on the air! She storms the station in a rage, only to be duped into joining a talk show, and her acid tongue makes her into an instant star!

FlyawayFlyaway by Kathleen Jennings

In a small Western Queensland town, a reserved young woman receives a note from one of her vanished brothers–a note that makes question her memories of their disappearance and her father’s departure. Her search for the truth throws her into tales of eerie dogs, vanished schools, cursed monsters, and enchanted bottles.

The Bookweaver's Daughter The Bookweaver’s Daughter by Malavika Kannan

In the ancient Indian kingdom of Kasmira, stories don’t begin with “once upon a time.”  Instead, Kasmiris start a woman’s story with those who came before her: her parents, grandparents, ancestors. For fourteen-year-old Reya Kandhari, her story always starts the same: with the fabled line of Bookweavers, tracing centuries back to the lost Yogis—the mythical guardians of Kasmiri culture who created the world itself.

Brides of Rome: A Novel of the Vestal Virgins (The Vesta Shadows Book 1) Brides of Rome by Debra May Macleod

Vestal Virgins? In Rome? In the time of Cleopatra and Anthony? I don’t think I’ve read any in that setting so I picked it up!

It Sounded Better in My HeadIt Sounded Better in my Head by Nina Kenwood

Okay, I know I had decided not to pick up any more contemporary romances, but this one is about a girl who has idealized love in her mind, and is quite surprised about the harsh reality of it.

Little Creeping ThingsLittle Creeping Things by Chelsea Ichaso

Okay, to be honest, the creepy doll in the cover alone was enough to convince me! It’s about a girl who has been bullied for causing a fire when was a kid, and then now one of her bullies goes missing, and since she had joked about the perfect way to get rid of her, she is the prime suspect. And who must have done it thinks they are both in this together? Interesting stuff – I’m hoping for an unreliable narrator!

Of Mutts and Men (Chet and Bernie Mystery #10)Of Mutts and Men by Spencer Quinn

It’s a mystery from the point of view of a detective’s dog! Like, come on, obviously I would get this adorable thing!

Mad, Bad & Dangerous to KnowMad, Bad & Dangerous to Know by Samira Ahmed

The stories of two girls playing out in their own era, linked through time? Heck yeah!

The Gilded Ones (Deathless, #1)The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

West African-inspired, feminist fantasy series in which, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice. It sort of gave me The Bone Witch vibe so obviously I picked it.

Queen of Coin and WhispersQueen of Coin and Whispers by Helen Corcoran

A sapphic romance between a young queen and her spymaster? COUNT ME IN!

SEQUELS

The Golden Sheep, Vol. 2 The Golden Sheep Vol. 3 TRUEL1F3 (Lifelike, #3)

Edelweiss

Animal Wife Animal Wife by Lara Ehrlich

“In villages where women bore most of the weight of a constricted life, witches flew by night on broomsticks,” said Italo Calvino of the way imagination bridges the gap between everyday existence and an idealized alternative. The fifteen stories of Animal Wife are unified by girls and women who cross this threshold seeking liberation from family responsibilities, from societal expectations, from their own minds.

Before the Coffee Gets ColdBefore the Coffee Gets Cold by Toshikazu Kawaguchi

If you could go back, who would you want to meet? In a small back alley of Tokyo, there is a café that has been serving carefully brewed coffee for more than one hundred years. Local legend says that this shop offers something else besides coffee—the chance to travel back in time.

Maison Ikkoku Collector's Edition, Vol. 1Maison Ikkoku, Vol. 1 by Rumiko Takahashi

A rom-com from the author of Inu Yasha? Why not?!

 

How Do We Relationship?, Vol. 1 How Do We Relationship?, Vol. 1 by Tamifull

Y’all how could I resist this? A romance of convenience between two college women soon becomes the real thing.

Vanessa Yu's Magical Paris Tea ShopTo Hold Up the Sky by Cixin Lu

About a young woman who can see fortunes in tea leaves, who jumps on a chance to join her aunt’s tea shop in Paris.

 

RWBY: The Official Manga, Vol. 1: The Beacon ArcRWBY The Official Manga, Vol. 1: The Beacon Arc by Bunta Kinami

Guess I want to see what it is about.

SEQUELS

Blue Flag, Vol. 2 Requiem of the Rose King, Vol. 12 Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 7 Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 13 Queen's Quality, Vol. 9 Kingdom of Ice and Bone (Frozen Sun Saga, #2)


Shelved on Goodreads

Camp Camp by L C Rosen

a sweet and sharp screwball comedy that critiques the culture of toxic masculinity within the queer community.

 

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

A Neon Darkness by Lauren Shippen

The second The Bright Sessions novel, this one being about Damien.


29 new books shelved!


What new books have you added to your shelves? Any of these you excited for?

2 thoughts on “Stacking The Shelves #95

  1. Pingback: April 2020 Wrap-Up | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.