Top Ten Tuesday: Most Recent Additions to My Bookshelf

Top Ten Tuesday banner

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and now hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl, wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten.

The topic this week was quite easy to do, because I just had to look up Goodreads and list it out. I suppose this meant physical shelves but since I haven’t added a physical book to my shelves in a long while, it is better to go with virtual shelves for this post!

Cold Iron HeartCold Iron Heart by Melissa Marr

How far would you go to escape fate?

In this prequel to the international bestselling WICKED LOVELY series (over a million copies sold), the Faery Courts collide a century before the mortals in Wicked Lovely are born.

Thelma Foy, a jeweler with the Second Sight in iron-bedecked 1890s New Orleans, wasn’t expecting to be caught in a faery conflict. Tam can see through the glamours faeries wear to hide themselves from mortals, but if her secret were revealed, the fey would steal her eyes, her life, or her freedom. So, Tam doesn’t respond when they trail thorn-crusted fingertips through her hair at the French Market or when the Dark King sings along with her in the bayou.

But when the Dark King, Irial, rescues her, Tam must confront everything she thought she knew about faeries, men, and love.

Too soon, New Orleans is filling with faeries who are looking for her, and Irial is the only one who can keep her safe.

Unbeknownst to Tam, she is the prize in a centuries-old fight between Summer Court and Winter Court. To protect her, Irial must risk a war he can’t win–or surrender the first mortal woman he’s loved.


The Nature of Witches by Rachel Griffin

Set in a world where witches have long maintained the climate but are now losing control, Clara Densmore, an Everwitch whose magic is tied to all four seasons, is the world’s only hope – despite a curse that could cost her everything.


The Sin EaterThe Sin Eater by Megan Campisi

The Handmaid’s Tale meets Alice in Wonderland in this gripping and imaginative historical novel about a shunned orphan girl in 16th century England who is ensnared in a deadly royal plot and must turn her subjugation into her power.

The Sin Eater walks among us, unseen, unheard
Sins of our flesh become sins of Hers
Following Her to the grave, unseen, unheard
The Sin Eater Walks Among Us.

For the crime of stealing bread, fourteen-year-old May receives a life sentence: she must become a Sin Eater—a shunned woman, brutally marked, whose fate is to hear the final confessions of the dying, eat ritual foods symbolizing their sins as a funeral rite, and thereby shoulder their transgressions to grant their souls access to heaven.

Orphaned and friendless, apprenticed to an older Sin Eater who cannot speak to her, May must make her way in a dangerous and cruel world she barely understands. When a deer heart appears on the coffin of a royal governess who did not confess to the dreadful sin it represents, the older Sin Eater refuses to eat it. She is taken to prison, tortured, and killed. To avenge her death, May must find out who placed the deer heart on the coffin and why.


Tarnished Are the StarsTarnished are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner’s secrets at any cost — even if it means betraying her own heart.

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic — before the Commissioner ends them first.

Chasing StarlightChasing Starlight by Teri Bailey Black

Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood! Teri Bailey Black’s Chasing Starlight is a historical mystery from the award-winning author of the Thriller Award for Best Young Adult Novel.

1938. The Golden Age of Hollywood. Palm trees and movie stars. Film studios pumping out musicals, westerns, and gangster films at a furious pace. Everyone wants to be a star—except society girl and aspiring astronomer Kate Hildebrand, who’d rather study them in the night sky. She’s already famous after a childhood tragedy turned her into a newspaper headline. What she craves is stability.

When Kate moves to Hollywood to live with her washed-up, ex-silent film star grandfather, she walks into a murder scene and lands on the front page. Again. Suspecting someone living in her grandfather’s boarding house is the killer—one of the young men or maybe even her grandfather—Kate searches for clues. Kate’s too sensible to drop out of high school to work at a movie studio, hunt a killer on her own, and fall for a penniless actor with a head full of dreams. But that’s exactly how her stars are aligning.

Part Katharine Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart, with a dash of Veronica Mars.

The Oracle CodeThe Oracle Code by Marieke Nijkamp

The #1 New York Times bestselling author Marieke Nijkamp (This Is Where It Ends) and artist Manuel Preitano unveil a graphic novel that explores the dark corridors of Barbara Gordon’s first mystery: herself.

After a gunshot leaves her paralyzed, Barbara Gordon enters the Arkham Center for Independence, where Gotham’s teens undergo physical and mental rehabilitation. Now using a wheelchair, Barbara must adapt to a new normal, but she cannot shake the feeling that something is dangerously amiss. Within these walls, strange sounds escape at night; patients go missing; and Barbara begins to put together pieces of what she believes to be a larger puzzle.

But is this suspicion simply a result of her trauma? Fellow patients try to connect with Barbara, but she pushes them away, and she’d rather spend time with ghost stories than participate in her daily exercises. Even Barbara’s own judgment is in question.

In The Oracle Code, universal truths cannot be escaped, and Barbara Gordon must battle the phantoms of her past before they swarm her future.


Blank Canvas: My So-Called Artist’s Journey, Vol. 3Blank Canvas: My So-Called Artist’s Journey, Vol 3 by Akiko Higashimura

ONE STEP FORWARD, TWO STEPS BACK

Akiko has graduated from art school—let the job hunt begin! But finding work is easier said than done. Will she have to return home to Miyazaki empty-handed?


Our Dreams at Dusk: Shimanami Tasogare, Vol. 2Our Dreams at Dusk: Shimanami Tasogare, Vol 2 by Yuhki Kamatani

HELP OR HINDRANCE?

Tasuku is starting to feel at home at the drop-in center―just in time for him to help a younger student who also hangs out there. Misora Shuji likes to wear girls’ clothing but is unsure about their gender identity. Will Tasuku’s guidance offer Shuji some clarity or just make things harder?


Our Dreams at Dusk: Shimanami Tasogare, Vol. 3Our Dreams at Dusk: Shimanami Tasogare, Vol 3 by Yuhki Kamatani

AN UNEXPECTED VISITOR

When Tasuku attends a workshop organized by Cat Clutter, the last person he is expecting to see there shows up: his crush, Tsubaki! Is this the beginning of a dream come true?


Our Dreams at Dusk: Shimanami Tasogare, Vol. 4Our Dreams at Dusk: Shimanami Tasogare, Vol 4 by Yuhki Kamatani

Tchaiko has always been an enigma, but when he goes to visit his partner in the hospital, his story is finally revealed. Meanwhile, Saki’s biggest secret is thrust out in the open — despite her desperate attempts to keep it under wraps. The emotional final volume of Yuhki Kamatani’s tale of gender, sexuality, and self discovery!

Which books did you add to your shelves recently?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Recent Additions to My Bookshelf

  1. Pingback: January 2020 Wrap-Up | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.