Stacking The Shelves #3

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly haul meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews & Reading Reality. It is about sharing enthusiasm for the new books added to our shelves – be it physical, ebooks, galleys or borrowed from the library.

A large portion of my shelves additions are, well, galleys and I thought of starting with this meme this year to account for all the new galleys I get. Also, maybe it will help me curb my galley requesting a bit? Who knows?

Redemption (MILA 2.0, #3)So while looking up potential series-enders to tackle this month, I saw Mila 2.0: Redemption on the top of the list I maintain at FictFact. This one is the end of the trilogy, and while I vaguely remember the plot of book 1, Mila 2.0, book 2 (Mila 2.0: Renegade) is a huge blur in my mind. Which means – time for a reread! So, I bought the third one to motivate me to read earlier (hey, it works sometimes!).

Firstlife (Everlife, #1)Another book I got myself this week was Firstlife – now that I have book 2 and book 3 galleys, I thought I really shouldn’t put off this any longer. Also, it will cross off another series from my TBR!

Moving on to the review copies from

Netgalley

The BellesThe Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

Another galley I literally screamed (last time, it was My Plain Jane) when I got approved for. It is set in a fantasy world where beauty is controlled by the ‘Belles’ and has a secret involving their powers.

Once Upon a Rainbow, Volume TwoOnce Upon a Rainbow Vol 2 (anthology)

While this is not technically categorized as YA, it is a romance anthology of fairytale retellings with queer elements, so naturally I clicked on request with no chill.

Between the Blade and the Heart (Valkyrie, #1)Between the Blade and the Heart by Amanda Hocking

It has been a while seen I’ve read anything of Hocking, and there have been some books in between I have yet to read, but her new series about a Valkyrie that is said to have Game of Thrones elements has me excited

Others

Paramnesia: The Deadish Chronicles, Book #1 Shadows Fire Song

Paramnesia is an urban fantasy about a girl who gains the ability to see dead people while Shadows is about a guy who is thrown 300 years into the future and has to find a way back. Fire Song is a contemporary fiction about grief and coming out.

Edelweiss

What You Left MeWhat You Left Me by Bridget Morrissey

‘perfect for readers of If I Stay’ – The blurb makes it sound sort of like the movie Just Like Heaven, but of course I know it won’t be a rom-com.

Bruja Born (Brooklyn Brujas #2)Bruja Born by Zoraida Córdova

Another galley I am so excited for, and would have even screamed about if only I remembered the details of the plot from the first one. (It is totally my fault, not the book’s)  It is about a different character in the main role, but still – a reread is in order! And I would like to add – these new cover editions are gorgeous!

Tell Me No Lies (Follow Me Back #2) Tell Me No Lies by A V Geiger

It is the sequel to Follow me Back and is a thriller about pop stars and obsessed fans and murders (I don’t know – I have yet to read the first book!)

Tiffany Sly Lives Here NowTiffany Sly Lives Here Now by Dana L Davis

A contemporary YA about family and belonging I am interested in reading. Plus, just look at that striking cover!

All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the AgesAll Out (edited) by Saundra Mitchell

Another queer YA anthology consisting of retold stories, and it also boasts some amazing authors being involved in it. Another gorgeous cover!

Everlife (Everlife #3)Everlife by Gena Showalter

Okay, I must admit, getting the third book directly when I haven’t even read the first two is not ideal reviewer style, but I like the author. Also, I already have the galley for the second book Lifeblood that I never got around to reading, so now it is just time to read this series!

Dating Disasters of Emma Nash Dating Disasters of Emma Nash

You may also know this book as Editing Emma; it is a contemporary epistolary YA about a girl who keeps a blog and her shenanigans on the internet.

Others

Frat Girl

Besides these, I also now have galleys for Plague Land: Reborn (sequel to Plague Land: ReMade), Ruin of Stars (sequel to Mask of Shadows) and The Dark Beneath the Ice – they all just don’t have covers as of now, so….

So, that’s this week – 17 new galleys, and 2 book added to my shelves. I tried not to add too many, but Harper Teen dropped some tempting galleys and I couldn’t help myself.


What new books have you acquired? Any of these you are excited for? Did you also scream for any of them?

7 thoughts on “Stacking The Shelves #3

  1. I’m so excited for Bruja Born to come out, Labyrinth Lost was amazing. Tiffany Sly Lives Here Now also looks really interesting, I have to check it out!

  2. That’s quite the selection, Ruthsic! I have read the first books in the Firstlife series, and I enjoyed them. I had no idea the third one was coming out soon, so thanks for the reminder.
    I hope you’ll enjoy all your new books 🙂 And that you’ll find the time to read them soon 😉
    Have a wonderful weekend and happy reading.

  3. Pingback: January 2018 Wrap-Up | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.