July 2017 Wrap-Up

Is it just me or did July just race by? I can barely remember this month and that’s not only because of how stressed out I was! To be fair, any day that I haven’t read feels ephemeral and with the 3 week long reading slump I had, things were looking close to a time jump. Anyway, it was probably not the best month of the year, but I still managed to catch my second wind in the last week so let’s just move on with the wrap-up and let the past be past, shall we?

Now, while I had planned for a mostly readathon-light month, with a two-week long #HSReadathon and the two-day long #24in48, my slump meant the former was moot. I, however, in a fit of self-rage and the impetus to prove to myself that it is possible, took up the challenge of #24in48, which I can tell you, my sweets, that I completed. I wrecked my sleep schedule, ate a LOT of junk food but I completed that challenge!

Moving on to my Goodreads challenge:

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
Krutula has
read 122 books toward
her goal of
260 books.
hide


8 full-length books, 2 graphic novels, 1 audiobook and 2 rereads, bringing up my tally to 13 books this month. It’s a low for this year, sure, and sets back my Goodreads goal by 10 further books! (Also, in order to make up, I have to read like 6.5 books per week, which already seems tough enough)

Here’s what I sort them as:

Read it ASAP

A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

Pretty good

Heroine Complex by Sarah Kuhn A.D. by Scott Snyder Heroine Worship by Sarah Kuhn The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana In 27 Days by Alison Gervais The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood Vicarious by Paula Stokes

Try it out maybe?

The Color Project by Sierra Abrams Sleeper by MacKenzie Cadenhead Great Divide by Ben Fisher

Reread this month

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

There was a mid-year freakout tag post to sort of like, you know, summarize the year.


Rock My TBR Challenge

#RockMyTBR 2017 Reading ChallengeGoals: 24/12 books from TBR
Heroine Complex (Heroine Complex, #1) A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire, #3) The Handmaid's Tale Vicarious (Vicarious, #1)
The quest to unload books from my TBR is progressing at a good pace, I guess?

Flights of Fantasy Challenge

Flights of Fantasy Reading ChallengeGoals: 49/100 fantasy books
Mixed bag of high fantasy
A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire, #3) The Library of Fates
and low fantasy (urban/paranormal)
Heroine Complex (Heroine Complex, #1) In 27 Days Sleeper Heroine Worship (Heroine Complex, #2)
 Still behind, but can catch up soon.

Blogger Shame Review Challenge

Blogger Shame 2016Goals: 6/52 past due galleys
Image result for shame gif
Nothing this month *cries*

Diverse Reads Challenge

2017 Diverse Reading ChallengeGoals: 23/52 diverse books

Heroine Complex (Heroine Complex, #1) Heroine Worship (Heroine Complex, #2) The Library of Fates Sleeper Great Divide Vicarious (Vicarious, #1)

All these books feature POC leads, with Heroine Complex, Heroine Worship and Vicarious having East Asian characters in protagonist roles, The Library of Fates is a high fantasy set in a kingdom that derives from various cultures in India. Sleeper has a multiracial (predominantly SE Asian) heroine, and The Great Divide has queer characters.

Debut Author Challenge

That Artsy Reader GirlGoals: 16/12 books by 2017 debut authors
The Color Project Sleeper

Dystopia Reading Challenge

Dystopia Reading ChallengeGoals: 6/26 dystopian books
Great Divide The Handmaid's Tale
The Great Divide has more of a post-apocalyptic world while The Handmaid’s Tale is a dystopian republic established in the modern world. Both are adult fiction, though.

Audiobook Challenge

2017 Audiobook ChallengeGoals: 4/10 audiobooks
A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire, #3)
I’m making progress with the Game of Thrones series in audiobook, and this month even began Jane Eyre in audio.

Beat the Backlist

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 30/52 backlisted books
Heroine Complex (Heroine Complex, #1) The Handmaid's Tale Vicarious (Vicarious, #1)

*trying so hard to keep up*

Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 72/100 galleys
A.D.: After Death Heroine Worship (Heroine Complex, #2) The Library of Fates In 27 Days Sleeper Great Divide
Only 6 galleys this month..but its half of my books read so *shrug*

Series Enders Challenge

Goals: 4/26 series enders

Nothing this month, as I’m not sure the Heroine Complex series is complete as of yet.

Historical Romance Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 1/26 historical romances
None this month.

Discussion Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 0/12 posts
Here be no discussion posts.

Contemporary Romance Challenge

Contemporary Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 22/26

Heroine Complex (Heroine Complex, #1) The Color Project Heroine Worship (Heroine Complex, #2) In 27 Days

 

Keyword Reading Challenge

My Soul Called Life June’s keywords: Before, Final, All, Freedom, Life, Dream

No books match

Witches & Witchcraft Challenge

2017 Witches & Witchcraft Reading ChallengeGoals: 3/16 Witchy books

none this month

 


How was your July? Did you do #24in48? How was your reading this month?

Leave a Reply

