Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

I came across this tag through my friend Min who posted this on her blog.  It’s a fun way to summarize the year so far without poring over challenges for a change.

(Also, today is exactly mid-year as it is the 183rd day of the year!)

1. Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2017?

This question is always difficult, and since I already did a full version of this in one of last month’s TTT, I’ll go with the simplest answer for now – A Conjuring of Light by Victoria Schwab

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

2. Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2017?

I’m a little torn between A Ship Beyond Time and Now I Rise – don’t make me choose, please! Both were amazing sequels!

The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig Now I Rise by Kiersten White

3. New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To?

I had been waiting for the Laini Taylor’s latest, but when it arrived I took one look at the size and was intimidated. I will probably have to read it over a weekend, because her books are beautiful enough to drown in .

Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1)

4. Most Anticipated Release For Second Half of 2017?

Ugh, there are so many! There’s Warcross by Marie Lu; and Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows and Beasts Made of Night top that list.

Warcross (Warcross, #1)

5. Biggest Disappointment?

Okay, this is not a question of what I rated low; it is more like what I expected of it. Reign of Shadows was a good book and Rise of Fire was a disappointing sequel that went off-track.

Rise of Fire (Reign of Shadows, #2)

6. Biggest Surprise?

The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie was definitely a big surprise for me in that I loved it so much. This was the first time I was reading her book, and I was optimistic from the blurb, yes, but I did not know how much quickly I would get invested in the characters, and how much I would come to love the characters.

The Abyss Surrounds Us

7. Favourite New (or New to You) Author?

My new favorite would be Cinda Williams Chima. I am very much impressed with The Seven Realms series, and though the Shattered Realms wasn’t as good, the latter is still a strong book.

8. Newest Fictional Crush?

That would be Tea from The Bone Witch.

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

9. Newest Favourite Character?

My latest favorite character is Penryn from the Penryn and the End of Days. She is a good mix of pragmatic, and emotional and warrior.

Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1)

10. Book That Made You Cry?

I told myself I wouldn’t cry while reading this book but I did just that.

Goodbye Days

11. Book That Made You Happy?

A Conjuring of Light made me happy just by being in my hands. Kidding! It was a great finale and I got to say goodbye to them in such a good way.

12. Favourite Book To Movie Adaptation You Saw This Year?

Umm, I haven’t seen many movies this year, and of the few that I have seen only two were book adaptations. So this one goes to The 5th Wave.

13. Favourite Review You’ve Written This Year?

Oh, uh, how do you select your own review? I think my recent review for Ringer might be my favorite.

14. Most Beautiful Book You Bought So Far This Year?

Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1)

The Hardcover is a beaut.

15. What Books Do You Need To Read By The End of The Year?

Let’s see – I want to finish A Song of Ice and Fire series this year (Game of Thrones), as well as read the final book in the Gallagher Girls series, amongst other finale books

One thought on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Yes! Strange the Dreamer is beautiful! I still have to finish off Laini Taylor’s first series with the last book, but after that I know I’ll drown myself in her writing, it is so beautiful. ❤ Also excited for Warcross! And I really want to read The Girl From Everywhere/The Ship Beyond Time!! Great list. 🙂

    Cass @ Words on Paper

Leave a Reply

