June 2017 Wrap-Up

Insert obligatory surprise over the passage of half a year here. Yes, I know it is almost a cliche to do this but I’ll get it over with so that I don’t bore you in the mid-year check-in that should be up in about, say, 2 days? My June goals were a bit different, with me participating in three readathons to keep up my reading. Sadly, I wasn’t successful in all of them.

For SciFi Summer Readathon, I had a lofty goal of 5 books in 7 days, but I managed to get to only three. As for becauseDragons readathon, I managed to complete 4 out of the 5 prompts. The last prompt was left incomplete as I couldn’t finish the book in time (and I was so close, too – at 88%). The month-long emojiathon had a primary goal of doing at least four of the prompts, and I had selected some 19 books that could fit the various prompts. Obviously I knew I wasn’t getting to all of them, but impossible goals is sort of how I roll. I got to 11 of them, so I call that a win nevertheless.

Now getting back to overall month reading:

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
Krutula has
read 109 books toward
her goal of
260 books.
hide


11 full-length books, 1 novella length book, 2 graphic novels, 2 audiobook and 2 rereads, bringing up my tally to 18 books this month. Here’s what I sort them as:

Read it ASAP

Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig Now I Rise by Kiersten White

Pretty good

Replica by Lauren Oliver Ringer by Lauren Oliver A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs Orange 1 by Ichigo Takano Angelfall by Susan Ee World After by Susan Ee Heathen by Natasha Alterici

Try it out maybe?

The Edge of Forever by Melissa E. Hurst End of Days by Susan Ee And Then There Were Four by Nancy Werlin

Nope!

 The Dragon's Price by Bethany Wiggins

Reread this month

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

Along with reviews, I also have TTT posts for series I haven’t started yet, and the best books I read in the first half of 2017.


Rock My TBR Challenge

#RockMyTBR 2017 Reading ChallengeGoals: 20/12 books from TBR
A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire #2) Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children, #1) Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #3) Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1) World After (Penryn & the End of Days, #2) End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days, #3)
Out of the 6 books I read off my TBR this month, 2 were audiobooks, which I have started to appreciate more in times when I need to catch up on galleys during main reading leisure hours. I tried to read the Penryn series in audiobook too, but I did not like the narrator much so I switched to the e-book.

Flights of Fantasy Challenge

Flights of Fantasy Reading ChallengeGoals: 43/100 fantasy books
Mixed bag of high fantasy
A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire #2) Spindle Fire (Spindle Fire #1) The Dragon's Price (Transference, #1) Heathen
and low fantasy (urban/paranormal)
Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children, #1) The Ship Beyond Time (The Girl From Everywhere, #2) Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #3) Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1) World After (Penryn & the End of Days, #2) End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days, #3)
 Still behind, but can catch up soon.

Blogger Shame Review Challenge

Blogger Shame 2016Goals: 6/52 past due galleys
Replica (Replica, #1) The Edge of Forever (The Edge of Forever #1)
Quite behind on this one, and I thought I might get to more this month, but I could only do two. And July doesn’t look promising for backlist books 😦

Diverse Reads Challenge

2017 Diverse Reading ChallengeGoals: 17/52 diverse books

Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children, #1) The Ship Beyond Time (The Girl From Everywhere, #2) Orange 1 (オレンジ, #1) Heathen Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga, #2) And Then There Were Four

Every Heart a Doorway has an ace protagonist and a transboy secondary character. The Ship Beyond Time has a biracial protagonist and a POC male lead (who gets a POV). Orange is own voices, as it is a manga by a Japanese author. Heathen features a lesbian viking warrior in the lead. Now I Rise has a gay main character, has non-het relationships in secondary characters and has a non-Western setting. And Then There Were Four has both POC leads, with one having a physical disability, and a f/f romantic relationship in secondary characters.

Though I don’t count it here, I must mention that the Penryn series and The Girl from Everywhere series are written by WOC.

Debut Author Challenge

That Artsy Reader GirlGoals: 14/12 books by 2017 debut authors
No debuts this month. *shrug*

Dystopia Reading Challenge

Dystopia Reading ChallengeGoals: 4/26 dystopian books
No dystopia this month

Audiobook Challenge

2017 Audiobook ChallengeGoals: 3/10 audiobooks
A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire #2) Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #3)
I am reading the Game of Thrones series in audiobooks, because I certainly can’t spare the hours to read the book in print. Same for Library of Souls. I am starting to like audiobooks more and have already picked out some more for my library 🙂

Beat the Backlist

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 27/52 backlisted books
Replica (Replica, #1) The Edge of Forever (The Edge of Forever #1) A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire #2) Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children, #1) Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #3) Orange 1 (オレンジ, #1) Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1) World After (Penryn & the End of Days, #2) End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days, #3)

Yep, behind on this challenge too! *tries not to sob*

Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 66/100 galleys
Replica (Replica, #1) The Edge of Forever (The Edge of Forever #1) Spindle Fire (Spindle Fire #1) The Dragon's Price (Transference, #1) The Ship Beyond Time (The Girl From Everywhere, #2) Ringer Heathen Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga, #2) And Then There Were Four
Only 9 galleys this month, and I haven’t made much of a dent in the feedback ratio *sigh*

Series Enders Challenge

Goals: 4/26 series enders

Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #3) End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days, #3) Ringer

Completed three series this month – Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, Penryn and the End of Days and Replica duology.

Historical Romance Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 1/26 historical romances
None this month.

Discussion Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 0/12 posts
Here be no discussion posts.

Contemporary Romance Challenge

Contemporary Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 18/26

Orange 1 (オレンジ, #1) And Then There Were Four

 

Keyword Reading Challenge

My Soul Called Life June’s keywords: Without, Know, Good, Watch, One, Have

No books match

Witches & Witchcraft Challenge

2017 Witches & Witchcraft Reading ChallengeGoals: 3/16 Witchy books

none this month

 


How was your June? How do you feel about your mid-year progress?

One thought on “June 2017 Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

