Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I’ve Read In 2017 So Far

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. It is amazing how half the year has gone by like this *snaps fingers* but I also feel like it has been a long time since the start of the year. (Time is weird) And of course, I have read some amazing books this year, and some okay ones and some not so okay ones. Anyway, what I am celebrating today is the best books I’ve read this year, so far – all of them have five-star from me and are highly recommended!


 A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3)A Conjuring of Light by V E Schwab

The finale to my favorite adult fantasy series Shades of Magic was pretty much guaranteed a spot on this list. Schwab went for glory and more, with our heroes racing to find a way to defeat an ancient piece of magic itself, while mending inter-personal relationships, and dreaming of better worlds.

A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3)

Eliza and Her Monsters Eliza and her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

A beautiful story about a fangirl and a creator, and living a virtual life along with a real one, Eliza and her Monsters was one of the two contemporaries that stood out to me this year. Zappia brings about the loneliness of a creator, the burden of expectations, and found families.

Eliza and Her Monsters

The Broken Ones (The Malediction Trilogy, #0.6) The Broken Ones by Danielle L Jensen

The prequel novel for the Stolen Songbird series, I really did not expect this to be as good as it was. Strong storytelling, excellent characters and a tragic plot.

The Broken Ones (The Malediction Trilogy, #0.6)

The Demon King (Seven Realms, #1) Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima

Though I have only mentioned the first book here, every book in the quartet is amazing. A high fantasy series about mages and kingdoms. Series page here.

The Demon King (Seven Realms, #1)

The Abyss Surrounds Us The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

Another duology that surprised me was The Abyss Surrounds Us. It has gentle sea monsters, a f/f romance and pirates! Also check out its sequel, The Edge of the Abyss, which is equally awesome!

The Abyss Surrounds Us

Goodbye DaysGoodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

One thing you should know when it comes to Zentner novels – keep tissues handy. They are emotionally heart-breaking and heart-warming, and have beautifully rendered characters.

Goodbye Days

User User by Devin Grayson

User is a graphic novel regarding the roleplaying games, and explores themes of identity and sexuality. Bonus: contains a genderqueer bisexual character as the protagonist!

User

Spindle Fire (Spindle Fire #1) Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer

You know I can never get enough of fairytale retellings and the strongest so far this year has been this retelling of Sleeping Beauty with a twist. Themes of sisterhood, agency and smashing the patriarchy!

Spindle Fire (Spindle Fire #1)

The Ship Beyond Time (The Girl From Everywhere, #2)The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig

The sequel to one of the strongest debuts last year, The Girl from Everywhere, this installment in the time travel series has you wondering – if you could change history, would you?

The Ship Beyond Time (The Girl From Everywhere, #2)
8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I’ve Read In 2017 So Far

  1. Nice list, and nice blog! Sadly I can no longer binge read like I did in my teens, so I try to make the books I still manage count. Recommandations help. Your blog caught my attention, both on tumblr and here because of the attractive styling. You write bubbly and energetically, and since I collect positive vibes, I’ll stick around!

  2. Pingback: June 2017 Wrap-Up | YA on my Mind

  3. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

