Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. You know, some days I wish I could keep up with all the new books released and lessen my TBR pile, but time passes and things slip through the cracks and whoops, months or years later, a series is still lying on my TBR shelf. Some of the below series have been on my TBR for a very long time – and though I want to get to them ASAP, the time and dedication to binge-read an entire series, or at least get till the latest book doesn’t strike often. Even while making this post, I am overcome with guilt over not reading them, but someday I sure do hope to.

https://i1.wp.com/www.perpetualpageturner.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/shatter-me-series.jpgShatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

The first book has been sitting on my TBR since 2012, and with the recent news about the new books being added to the series, I really need to get to this one soon.

The Pledge series by Kimberly Derting Image result for the pledge series

Another series that has been on my shelves since 2012 (and the first has been on my physical shelf since 3 years), this is another trilogy that I am wanting to read but never do so.

Image result for the darkest minds seriesThe Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken

Another series that is in need of urgent reading due to the movie being made.

Heist Society series by Ally Carter https://ruthsic.files.wordpress.com/2017/06/25811-heistsociety_series.jpg?w=308&h=150

Gallagher Girls has been my favorite of Ally Carter’s books and I loved the first of the Embassy Row series, but the Heist Society is one I never got to. I hope to rectify that soon.

https://bookbimbo.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/oldkingdom.jpg?w=292&h=150Abhorsen series by Garth Nix

This high fantasy series has 5 books (Clariel & Goldenhand included) so far, and that makes me nervous to even start it! I think I have the first and the fifth on my Kindle (don’t ask how) but have yet to gather the courage to start.

Graceling Realm by Kristin Cashorehttps://i1.wp.com/deliberatereader.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Graceling-Realm.jpg

Considering the fact that the whole trilogy has been staring at me from my bookshelf for months now, I should have started it, but I get intimidated by the size of the books. (And this is why I read preferably on ebooks – there is no intimidation of size in an ebook)

https://lebalziblog.files.wordpress.com/2014/12/the-giver-quartet.jpg?w=405&h=150The Giver quartet by Lois Lowry

I had initially planned to start the series before I saw the movie, but I cheated and watched the movie anyway. It is very sad so I kind of put this on hold, but I do want to read it someday.

Penryn and the End of Days by Susan Eehttps://i1.wp.com/www.themidnightgarden.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/penryn.jpg

Another series that has been on my TBR for a long time, I might actually get to this series soon enough. Like next month soon. I got myself the audiobooks (Kindle Unlimited ftw), which I usually read during my non-binge-reading times.

Image result for the magicians book seriesThe Magicians trilogy by Lev Grossman

I love the show so much that I bought myself a box set of the series recently. Unfortunately, I don’t know when I will get around to reading it – before Season 3 premiere, hopefully!

What books have you kept unread for too long?

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

  1. I’ve only read the Graceling series, which might just be my absolute favourite high fantasy trilogy to date. ❤ It was the first high fantasy I tried, and it was just….. words can’t really measure the love I have for the characters, and the world-building is perfect. I also read the first book Shatter Me. I know lots of people harp on about the series but I wasn’t so impressed so I’m not interested to read on. Great picks! I still have yet to read the rest.

    Cass @ Words on Paper

  2. Pingback: June 2017 Wrap-Up | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

