May Wrap-Up

Who’s slowly inching her way back to catching up on her Goodreads goal? This girl! To be fair, I don’t stress so much about it as I did three months ago, but I do like the fact that I have reduced the gap from 25 to 18 books (I will get on track soon soon soon). This month was mostly devoted to galleys as I was doing the #CleanSweepARC challenge, and I did get a boost with the Bout of Books challenge. Which goes to show – readathons do work (for me, at least). I’ve also participated in the annual Harry Potter readalong (as a Hufflepuff!). In fact, I have planned to participate in four readathons in June, so as to keep the momentum going (check out my follow-up post about this).

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
Krutula has
read 89 books toward
her goal of
260 books.
hide


15 books, 2 graphic novels, 1 audiobook and 2 rereads, bringing up my tally to 20 books this month, which definitely has me on a high. What did I think of these books?

Read it ASAP

User Eliza and Her Monsters

Pretty good 

The Broken Ones (The Malediction Trilogy, #0.6) Psycho Pass: Inspector Shinya Kogami Volume 2 All the Missing Girls Seeking Mansfield A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)

Try it out maybe?

Deacon Locke Went to Prom Lying Out Loud My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen Beast Grit The Love Interest The Gauntlet (The Cage, #3) Breakwater All the Stars Left Behind

Nope!

The Black Witch (The Black Witch Chronicles #1) The Go-Between

Reread this month

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1) Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)


Rock My TBR Challenge

#RockMyTBR 2017 Reading ChallengeGoals: 14/12 books from TBR
The Love Interest A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)
I got to one new release of the month and one old book off my TBR! I’m ahead on this challenge so I am mostly not looking at this challenge and instead focusing on galleys.

Flights of Fantasy Challenge

Flights of Fantasy Reading ChallengeGoals: 33/100 fantasy books
Mixed bag of high fantasy Breakwater A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1) The Broken Ones (The Malediction Trilogy, #0.6) The Black Witch (The Black Witch Chronicles #1)
and low fantasy (urban/paranormal) User Beast
 I am behind on this challenge but there’s still more than half a year to catch up so I’m optimistic.

Blogger Shame Review Challenge

Blogger Shame 2016Goals: 4/52 past due galleys
Lying Out Loud All the Missing Girls
Got to two more older galleys, which has me at still a low number of overall 4.

Diverse Reads Challenge

2017 Diverse Reading ChallengeGoals: 17/52 diverse books

All the Stars Left Behind The Gauntlet (The Cage, #3) The Love Interest User Seeking Mansfield My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen Psycho Pass: Inspector Shinya Kogami Volume 2 The Go-Between

All the Stars Left Behind features a disabled MC and diverse secondary characters, User has a bisexual genderfluid protag, The Gauntlet, Seeking Mansfield, and The Go-Between have POC protagonists, The Love Interest and My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen have gay MCs, while Psycho Pass is own voices.

Debut Author Challenge

That Artsy Reader GirlGoals: 14/12 books by 2017 debut authors
The Black Witch (The Black Witch Chronicles #1) My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen Seeking Mansfield Grit The Love Interest Breakwater All the Stars Left Behind
I read a lot of debut authors this month and have achieved the goals I had set. But fear not, there are many more 2017 debuts coming in the forthcoming months!

Dystopia Reading Challenge

Dystopia Reading ChallengeGoals: 4/26 dystopian books
Psycho Pass: Inspector Shinya Kogami Volume 2
Obviously, the well of dystopia books on my immediate TBR is a little dry at the moment, but I’ll find some, I’m sure.

Audiobook Challenge

2017 Audiobook ChallengeGoals: 1/10 audiobooks
A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)
I have started reading the Game of Thrones series in audiobooks, and am currently on the second one. It is pretty good in audio since I have to devote actual reading time to galleys.

Beat the Backlist

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 18/52 backlisted books
Lying Out Loud A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)

Yep, behind on this challenge too! *tries not to sob*

 

 

Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 57/100 galleys
The Black Witch (The Black Witch Chronicles #1) The Go-Between Deacon Locke Went to Prom The Broken Ones (The Malediction Trilogy, #0.6) Lying Out Loud Psycho Pass: Inspector Shinya Kogami Volume 2 All the Missing Girls My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen Beast Seeking Mansfield User Grit The Gauntlet (The Cage, #3) Breakwater Eliza and Her Monsters All the Stars Left Behind
Rushing to do the frontlist and backlist titles has me ahead on this challenge for the moment.

Series Enders Challenge

Goals: 4/26 series enders

The Gauntlet (The Cage, #3)

The Cage series completed.

Historical Romance Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 0/26 historical romances
None this month.

Discussion Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 0/12 posts
Here be no discussion posts.

Contemporary Romance Challenge

Contemporary Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 16/26

Deacon Locke Went to Prom Lying Out Loud My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen Seeking Mansfield Grit The Love Interest Eliza and Her Monsters

All are YA contemporary romances.

Keyword Reading Challenge

My Soul Called Life None this month.

 

Witches & Witchcraft Challenge

2017 Witches & Witchcraft Reading ChallengeGoals: 3/16 Witchy books

The Black Witch (The Black Witch Chronicles #1)

 


How was your May? Read some good books?

3 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up

  1. That was an incredible month! Happy to see readathons have helped you and I’m curious to see which ones are you joining in this month 🙂 I feel you with challenges, bout of books works great for me too, especially for being so non pressure!

    And you’re doing a lot of challenges! It has made me want to do a couple of them, but we’re already in June so I am not sure.

    Congrats on those 20 books (that’s a lot!), and I hope you catch up with your GR challenge and have another great month 😉

    • Thanks​!

      By the way, you can still do some month long challenges, if not the year long ones. Or you can do the year long ones with smaller goals. (Some of them are still open for sign ups)

Leave a Reply

