Book Blogger Hop: May 12-18

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Coffee Addicted Writer

This week’s question is:

If you read a book you ended up hating, would you stay away from future books by that author, or would you give them a second chance?

Answer:

Short answer is yes to the former.

As much as I like to believe that future books can be improved upon, reading a book by an author (especially if it is the first that I have read by them) and hating it leaves sort of a bitter taste in my mouth. Future books are always tainted by that experience.

For example, I got bored of Alyson Noel’s The Immortals series (even though I completed it) and though I was one book away from finishing her Soul Seeker series (that I was reading around the same time) I never got around to finishing that series of hers.

Another author I did not like very much was Michelle Madow. I felt her Transcend Time series was kind of meh, but thought I will give her another chance in the Elementals series. Sadly, the first of that series was a mountain of cliches, and I am probably not continuing that one.

Then comes the House of Night series by P C and Kristin Cast – it stretched on too long and now I have no interest in finishing that series or reading any future books from either of them, which is a shame because I had actually like P C Cast’s Parthenon series.

Basically what I am trying to say is, I try not to let bias come in the way of choosing new books but hey, reading is personal and if I don’t like an author, I don’t need to continue.

 

6 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: May 12-18

  1. I agree with your answer. If an author has turned me off and I have read about 2 books I might not like there style and I agree with you reading is personal I just wouldn’t continue.

    • Yes. A major reason for reading any other book by the same author is their style. If I don’t like it, chances are however good the new story sounds, I won’t like how it is written

  2. If I really don’t like a book I’ll usually give the author one more try before not reading more from them. It’s usually because I don’t like their writing style, so it’s unlikely that there is going to be a huge change in any subsequent books.

  3. What an interesting question that is. I’m not sure about the answer. I want to say that I would give them a second chance if I don’t like their book. But, if I am reading a book that I find that I am not liking I will try and finish the book, if I find that I cannot finish the book and I tried to finish it that would be my 2nd try. Then I would not go back to that author at all. Does that make sense?

    I actually came over here from bout of books to look over how you were doing and found this post! Very interesting question indeed.

Leave a Reply

