March-April Wrap-Up

2017 has been determined to kick me when I am down, and honestly it has not been that great of a time in these two months. Personal and mental issues aside, I have been struggling with what now looks like a mountain of galleys. Hindsight is 20-20, as I now regret requesting or adding so many ARCs and most of my reading has been devoted to thin that ever-expanding field. Of course, this has left little time for books that I buy – which are also technically going to be reviewed, but they don’t come with that obligation attached, ya know? Basically, I have been trying to get my life and head, and this TBR pile in order, trying to establish some schedule and routine, so that I can feel better. Did I do good? Let’s see:

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
Krutula has
read 67 books toward
her goal of
260 books.
hide


March

17 novels, 3 graphic novels, and 2 audiobooks (as rereads)

April

17 novels, 2 graphic novel & 1 reread

Overall, I think I have read better these two months. I got a fair number of galleys and TBR pile books read, so I call it a win, even if I am behind on my GR challenge.

Must read!

A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) The Demon King (Seven Realms, #1) The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms, #2) The Gray Wolf Throne (Seven Realms, #3) The Crimson Crown (Seven Realms, #4) The Abyss Surrounds Us

Pretty good 

The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch, #1) RG Veda Omnibus Volume 1 Psycho Pass: Inspector Shinya Kogami Volume 1 Goodbye Days Hunted Creatures of the Night (Second Edition)The Castaways Geekerella Pretty Fierce Flamecaster (Shattered Realms, #1) Shadowcaster (Shattered Realms, #2) The Edge of the Abyss (The Abyss Surrounds Us, #2) Solitaire Radio Silence The Hunt Year of Lightning (The Time Shift Trilogy) Dreamfall (Dreamfall #1) Avenged (Ruined, #2)

Try it out

The Hidden Memory of Objects The Body Market (The Wired #2) Vigilante Dead Little Mean Girl 100 Hours (100 Hours, #1) The End of Our Story Lucky Girl Looking for Group Windfall Surgeon X: The Path of Most Resistance But Then I Came Back

Ugh no

Just a Girl Stranger Things Have Happened Sucktown, Alaska The Black Tempest

Rereads

Cruel Beauty (Cruel Beauty Universe, #1) Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3) This Raging Light

TTT posts

Spring TBR
Book turn-offs
How to get me to read a book


Onto the blogger challenges (which I did not check and read according to)

Then & Again Reading Challenge

Then & Again Reading ChallengeImage result for peter pan book cover

March’s book of the month was Peter Pan. Sadly, I did not get time to read it, or the retelling I was planning to read, Tiger Lily.

April was a freebie month, to read any books that had been missed out on, but did not work out for me, either.


Rock My TBR Challenge

#RockMyTBR 2017 Reading ChallengeGoals: 12/12 books from TBR
 A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) The Demon King (Seven Realms, #1) The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms, #2) The Gray Wolf Throne (Seven Realms, #3) The Crimson Crown (Seven Realms, #4) The Abyss Surrounds Us
I actually got some books off my TBR because I decided to read the whole Seven Realms series for my galleys of Shattered Realms series. And of course, I had to read A Conjuring of Light! And with that, my year goals are complete, but I will still try to read at least one book off my TBR every month.

Flights of Fantasy Challenge

Flights of Fantasy Reading ChallengeGoals: 26/100 fantasy books
A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) RG Veda Omnibus Volume 1 Hunted The Demon King (Seven Realms, #1) The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms, #2) The Gray Wolf Throne (Seven Realms, #3) The Crimson Crown (Seven Realms, #4) Flamecaster (Shattered Realms, #1) Shadowcaster (Shattered Realms, #2) Avenged (Ruined, #2)
These are all high fantasies while
Creatures of the Night (Second Edition) The Castaways The Hunt Year of Lightning (The Time Shift Trilogy) The Black Tempest
are urban/low fantasies
The Hidden Memory of Objects  But Then I Came Back
and these were contemporaries with minor paranormal elements. Think I am a little behind for this challenge

Blogger Shame Review Challenge

Blogger Shame 2016Goals: 2/52 past due galleys
Solitaire Flamecaster (Shattered Realms, #1)
Well, I finally got to two older galleys. Still a bit behind on backlisted galleys

Diverse Reads Challenge

2017 Diverse Reading ChallengeGoals: 9/52 diverse books

The Abyss Surrounds Us The Edge of the Abyss (The Abyss Surrounds Us, #2) Dreamfall (Dreamfall #1) Looking for Group Psycho Pass: Inspector Shinya Kogami Volume 1

The Abyss Surrounds Us series has a lesbian WOC as a main character, while Dreamfall has a biracial character as one of the MCs and Looking for Group has a gay MC in relation with a pansexual transgirl. Psychopass is written by a non-western author.

Debut Author Challenge

That Artsy Reader GirlGoals: 7/12 books by 2017 debut authors
The Hidden Memory of Objects The Castaways Looking for Group Sucktown, Alaska

Dystopia Reading Challenge

Dystopia Reading ChallengeGoals: 3/26 dystopian books
Psycho Pass: Inspector Shinya Kogami Volume 1 The Body Market (The Wired #2)
 A little behind on this one 😦

Audiobook Challenge

2017 Audiobook ChallengeGoals: 0/10 audiobooks
No new audiobooks these two months. Only rereads

Beat the Backlist

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 16/52 backlisted books
RG Veda Omnibus Volume 1 Psycho Pass: Inspector Shinya Kogami Volume 1 Creatures of the Night (Second Edition) The Demon King (Seven Realms, #1) The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms, #2) The Gray Wolf Throne (Seven Realms, #3) The Crimson Crown (Seven Realms, #4) Flamecaster (Shattered Realms, #1) The Abyss Surrounds Us Year of Lightning (The Time Shift Trilogy)
All were published before 2017.

 

Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 41/100 galleys
RG Veda Omnibus Volume 1 Psycho Pass: Inspector Shinya Kogami Volume 1 Goodbye Days Hunted Creatures of the Night (Second Edition) The Hidden Memory of Objects Solitaire Radio Silence The Body Market (The Wired #2) Vigilante Dead Little Mean Girl Just a Girl 100 Hours (100 Hours, #1) The Castaways Flamecaster (Shattered Realms, #1) Geekerella Pretty Fierce Stranger Things Have Happened The End of Our Story Shadowcaster (Shattered Realms, #2) The Edge of the Abyss (The Abyss Surrounds Us, #2) Lucky Girl The Hunt Sucktown, AlaskaThe Black Tempest Looking for Group Dreamfall (Dreamfall #1) Windfall Avenged (Ruined, #2) But Then I Came Back
I read a LOT of galleys in these two months, mostly to make up for the pile of frontlist books

Series Enders Challenge

Goals: 3/26 series enders

A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) The Crimson Crown (Seven Realms, #4)

Said good-bye to two series. Anoshe!

Historical Romance Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 1/26 historical romances
None this time

Discussion Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 0/12 posts
Here be no discussion posts.

Contemporary Romance Challenge

Contemporary Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 9/26

Solitaire Geekerella The End of Our Story Looking for Group Windfall But Then I Came Back

Keyword Reading Challenge

My Soul Called LifeMAR- Shall, Go, By, Silence, Her, Saga
  • Radio Silence

    APR- From, Trigger, Tale, His, Crown, Mist

  • Witches & Witchcraft Challenge

    2017 Witches & Witchcraft Reading ChallengeGoals: 2/16 Witchy books

    None here

 

 

For May, I’m hoping to reinvigorate my reading with two reading challenges – the month-long Clean Sweep ARC challenge, and the week-long Bout of Books. You can check on me for those on my reading challenges page

3 thoughts on “March-April Wrap-Up

  1. Wow,sounds like the past two months have been great especially considering the number of books you read.I hope May will also be good to you.All the best with your challenges/goals.

  2. I hope everything gets better soon! It looks like you did get a lot read in the past two months and are doing well on all of your challenges! You will get to the books on your TBR in time! Have a great May!!

Leave a Reply

