Top Ten Tuesday: Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. Now I am not the most picky person when it comes to reading, but I know what I like. That being said, if you want to suggest a book to me, maybe something that has one of these qualities, you are guaranteed to make me read it:

Complex world-building:

Give me a fantasy book with well-thought fantasy world, especially ones in which the problems the protagonists face could only be unique to that world. Imagine it in any other world – will it work? If not, probably not a unique world-specific problem! I like it when the world itself is an involved part of the plot, not something that just forms the background on which the story plays out.

Bisexual MC:

Actually I prefer any book that is written with a diverse set of characters, but if it has good bisexual rep, I am more likely to go for it. No points for guessing why 😉

It is a retelling!:

You tell me it is retelling of something, it goes straight to my TBR. You tell me it is a retelling of something I really like, like out of mythology, I will hunt down a copy.

Snark:

I love characters that have a sense of humor, and who can dole out witty replies and sassy comebacks. Sarcastic one-liners are also my weakness.

Well-developed relationships:

And no, I am not referring to only romantic relationships. I feel all kinds of relationships, platonic, familial and other should get equal measure in books, and be well-written.

Enemies to lovers:

I am not much for romance, but I am weak in the face of a good enemies to lovers arc. I can’t help it – and if it involves some snarky bantering, instant OTP.

Mythical creatures:

Any book can be improved upon with the addition of a dragon or two. I am not partial to just dragons, though – it can be any mythical creature like a phoenix, a kraken, or maybe even a unicorn!

Moral ambiguity:

Be in world-building, side characters or main characters, bring on the gray, yo! Nobody like stuff in black and white – that is boring. Our nature is a tug-of-war between good and bad, between desires and duties, so our fiction should also reflect that. There is no pure utopia or pure dystopia.

The pet survives:

Fiction is the one place where we can make all animals, especially pet ones, survive. So, that is like an extra incentive for me to keep reading.

Squad goals:

A good plot with a good squad, and I am ready to ship all of them.

And these are the ways to my bookish heart!

What are your weaknesses when it comes to books?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

  1. Oh I also LOVE morally ambiguous characters! I agree black and white characters are boring. That’s why so many people like Draco Malfoy right?? I think my favorite morally ambiguous character would have to be Holland from the Shades of Magic Series!

Leave a Reply

