February Wrap-Up

READING IS SUPPOSED TO BE RELAXING!

I’ll keep saying this until it sticks because the sight of my Goodreads challenge always makes me sick these days. I momentarily entertained the idea of lowering the goal so as to keep myself happy, but then I thought it was more my depression talking than my sense of competitiveness. I will not let myself fall back into old patterns, giving myself a pass because I think I have earned it (though I have not). Hopefully, I will be able to extend this ideology to other aspects of my life, but for now I will apply it to the things I can control with certainty. But I will also not let it stress me out unnecessarily. So, I say once again – Reading is supposed to be my buoy in the ocean that is reality, and I will not let it drown me.

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
Krutula has
read 23 books toward
her goal of
260 books.
hide


12 books this month – though three of them are re-reads. Goodreads rolling out the reread feature was perhaps the best Valentine’s Day gift they could give us readers. I still have a separate shelf so as to exclude the rereads from the new books read count. I am still behind on my challenge but I am feeling a bit better about it now.

Pretty good 

Long May She Reign The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue The Wish Granter (Ravenspire, #2) Any Boy But You (North Pole, Minnesota, #1) Windwitch (The Witchlands, #2)

Try it out

Heartless American Street Biggest Flirts Rise of Fire (Reign of Shadows #2)

The Rereads

Reign of Shadows (Reign of Shadows, #1) A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic, #1) The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)


Onto the blogger challenges, which I really did not pay much attention to this month.

Then & Again Reading Challenge

Then & Again Reading ChallengeImage result for alice in wonderland original cover

February’s book of the month was Alice in Wonderland. I had the lofty goal of reading the original (which I did, but is not included in the books read above because I have an omnibus edition and I haven’t read  the second yet) as well as two retellings, Heartless and The White Rabbit Chronicles. Two of three is not bad, though.


Rock My TBR Challenge

#RockMyTBR 2017 Reading ChallengeGoals: 6/12 books from TBR
Windwitch (The Witchlands, #2) Biggest Flirts Heartless
Right after Truthwitch, I moved onto Windwitch. And Riveted had Biggest Flirts up for reading, so of course I had to read it! Overall, I would say I am more inclined to reading books off my TBR than my galley frontlist at the moment.

Flights of Fantasy Challenge

Flights of Fantasy Reading ChallengeGoals: 9/100 fantasy books
Rise of Fire (Reign of Shadows #2) Windwitch (The Witchlands, #2) The Wish Granter (Ravenspire, #2) Long May She Reign Heartless The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
The first four are high fantasies, with The Wish Granter and Heartless being retellings of Rumplestiltskin and Alice in Wonderland, respectively.

Blogger Shame Review Challenge

Blogger Shame 2016Goals: 0/52 past due galleys
No luck here, again! I did not even get to all my February ARCs or the March ARCs that I desperately wanted to read months ago.

Diverse Reads Challenge

2017 Diverse Reading ChallengeGoals: 5/52 diverse books

American Street The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

American Street is an #OwnVoices book about a Haitin migrant girl who is an American citizen (also POC main character was this month’s prompt), while A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue has a bisexual main character in love with a biracial gay character.

Debut Author Challenge

That Artsy Reader GirlGoals: 3/12 books by 2017 debut authors
American Street

Dystopia Reading Challenge

Dystopia Reading ChallengeGoals: 1/26 dystopian books
None this month.

Audiobook Challenge

2017 Audiobook ChallengeGoals: 0/10 audiobooks
No new audiobooks this month.

Beat the Backlist

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 6/52 backlisted books
Biggest Flirts Heartless

btbhpinfoslider

All were published before 2017.

I just realized that books can count only once for any of the hunts, so I am focusing on Hermione’s Library for now. Extras will go into other hunts.

Hermione’s Library

Read a book that starts with each letter of the alphabet
B – Biggest Flirts
D – Deathless
H – Heartless
R – Red Rising
T – Truthwitch
W – Wallbanger

Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 11/100 galleys
Rise of Fire (Reign of Shadows #2) The Wish Granter (Ravenspire, #2)  American StreetThe Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue Long May She Reign
A little slow on the galleys for the moment…

Series Enders Challenge

Goals: 1/26 series enders

Rise of Fire (Reign of Shadows #2)

Historical Romance Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 1/26 historical romances
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

Discussion Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 0/12 posts
Here be no discussion posts.

Contemporary Romance Challenge

Contemporary Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 3/26

Biggest Flirts American Street

Both are YA contemporary romances.

Keyword Reading Challenge

My Soul Called LifeJAN- And, Rose, Promise, Every, Deception, Blazing
  • The Gentlemen’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

    Witches & Witchcraft Challenge

    2017 Witches & Witchcraft Reading ChallengeGoals: 1/16 Witchy books

    Windwitch (The Witchlands, #2)

 

 

And that has been my February.  I am slowly trying to move on from the reading slump, but lets see where this goes.

How was your February? Read some good books?

2 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

