January Wrap-Up

Hello, everyone! How has 2017 treated you so far? Reading going good this year?

Not for me – 2017 is already kicking my ass. I thought this was the year I would push further than 2016. I was riding on the high of being constantly ahead of my reading challenges last year, and got sloppy. An important thing to note – I was successful at last year’s Goodreads challenge because I kept myself ahead; I would read as much as possible in every free minute. But this year started off on such a bad note. In January, I read only in the first half of the month. After that, well, it was like I slipped into a slump. More likely, it was all the news occupying so much of my reading time, plus my depression hitting an all-time high (which means, I was on an all-time low) – all adding up to swinging between insomnia and hyper-somnia (some days I wish I was a Twilight vampire and did not need ANY sleep), as well as stressing out about the manuscript that I will have to write and submit by the middle of this year if I have any hope to publish my research before I graduate. Science is pretty merciless because it does not wait for you – there are other, more talented people (by which I mean post-docs) working way better and faster than you, so by the time you have just got enough results to establish significance, some one else has already published. Anyway, basically what I want to say is – I would like to start this year afresh. But since time travel is not yet possible, I will have to suck up, get therapy, meds whatever, whip myself into shape and ignore my Goodreads reading challenge so that I am not further stressed out. NOTE TO SELF: READING IS SUPPOSED TO BE RELAXING!

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
Krutula has
read 17 books toward
her goal of
260 books.
hide


10 books and 1 manga – quite a low for me! But as I said, I am not focusing on this at the moment. I will read whenever possible and not stress about the deficit – yet. My mental health is more important than an arbitrary challenge that I set to compete against my past self. But enough about me – let’s move on to the books and what I thought of them!

Pretty good 

The Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2) Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1) Wallbanger (Cocktail, #1) Dreadnought (Nemesis, #1) Deathless Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1)

Try it out

One Moment Because of the Sun The One Memory of Flora Banks #famous Scum's Wish: Volume 1


Let’s begin with the blogger challenges, shall we?

Then & Again Reading Challenge

Then & Again Reading Challenge84979

January’s book of the month was Pride and Prejudice and for the retelling I read: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Now I use the term ‘read’ loosely because as of this moment, I am still in the middle of both books. Way to go, me, for not setting an example in my own challenge!


Rock My TBR Challenge

#RockMyTBR 2017 Reading ChallengeGoals: 3/12 books from TBR
Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1) DeathlessTruthwitch (The Witchlands, #1)
One of the group reads, Red Rising has been on my TBR for a while (since 2014), and I am hoping to finish the series this year. I also got to Deathless (as part of January’s #TGTRAT) and then went on to read Truthwitch because the sequel Windwitch was coming out soon.

Flights of Fantasy Challenge

Flights of Fantasy Reading ChallengeGoals: 3/100 fantasy books
Dreadnought (Nemesis, #1) Deathless Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1)
Dreadnought is an urban fantasy set in a superhero universe, Deathless is a historical fairytale retelling, and Truthwitch is a high fantasy.

Blogger Shame Review Challenge

Blogger Shame 2016Goals: 0/52 past due galleys
No luck here! I did not even get to all my January ARCs

Diverse Reads Challenge

2017 Diverse Reading ChallengeGoals: 3/52 diverse books

Deathless Dreadnought (Nemesis, #1) Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1)

January’s theme is diverse folklore/mythology, for which I chose Deathless (Russian folklore). Besides that, Dreadnought features a transgender protagonist, while Truthwitch has a marginalized POC character (Isuelt)

Debut Author Challenge

That Artsy Reader GirlGoals: 2/12 books by 2017 debut authors
#famous Dreadnought (Nemesis, #1)

Dystopia Reading Challenge

Dystopia Reading ChallengeGoals: 1/26 dystopian books
Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1)
Red Rising is a futuristic space dystopia.

Audiobook Challenge

2017 Audiobook ChallengeGoals: 0/10 audiobooks

Beat the Backlist

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 4/52 backlisted books
Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1) Wallbanger (Cocktail, #1) Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1) Deathless

btbhpinfoslider

All were published before 2017.

Harry’s Trunk

Snitch – A character wins a battle for their side
Cloak -A character receives a gift from an unexpected source
Hedwig- A book featuring a beloved pet. – Wallbanger
Broomstick- A book featuring unusual transportation
Lightning-bolt scar -A character with scars

The Weasleys

Arthur – Book with a tinkerer/inventor character
Molly – Book with a highly protective mother figure
William (Bill) – Book with a character who deals in money
Charlies (Charlie) – Book where a character meets a mythical creature
Percy – Book with a pretentious jerk
Fred – Character with a wicked sense of humor
George – Book with two siblings/friends that are thicker than thieves – Truthwitch
Ron – Book with a character who is an underrated friend
Ginny – Book with a character who meets/ends up with their famous/celebrity crush

Hermione’s Library

Read a book that starts with each letter of the alphabet
D – Deathless
R – Red Rising
T – Truthwitch
W – Wallbanger

Chamber of Secrets

Flying car:A book with a vehicle that does something it shouldn’t
Chamber threats/petrified:A character that starts falling ill
Dueling club:A book featuring a duel between characters – Red Rising
Polyjuice potion:A character who can shapeshift
Diary:A book featuring a journal (entries, character writes in one, etc.)
Basilisk:A book with a fierce monster

Order of the Phoenix

Expelled from Hogwarts:A character gets kicked out of somewhere
Umbridge/detention:A villain you love to hate
Dumbledore’s Army:A book about a revolution – Deathless
Occlumency lessons:A character trains to defend him/herself
O.W.L.s:A character has to take an important test
Prophecy/Department of Mysteries:A book with a prophecy

Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge

2017 Beat the Backlist ChallengeGoals: 6/100 galleys
The Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2) One Moment Because of the Sun The One Memory of Flora Banks Dreadnought (Nemesis, #1) #famous
All of them are contemporaries – with The Last of August a mystery, and #famous, One Moment & Because of the Sun as coming-of-age stories; Dreadnought is technically urban fantasy.

Series Enders Challenge

Goals: 0/26 series enders

No books here

Historical Romance Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 0/26 historical romances
Here be no historical dragons

Discussion Challenge

Historical Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 0/12 posts
Here be no discussion posts.
I had one in mind, but I kept putting the actual writing of it off. I might do it soon – who knows?

Contemporary Romance Challenge

Contemporary Romance Reading ChallengeGoals: 3/26

Wallbanger (Cocktail, #1) #famous Scum's Wish: Volume 1

Wallbanger is an adult contemporary romance. #famous and Scum’s wish are both YA romances

Keyword Reading Challenge

My Soul Called LifeJAN- Court, Fall, Of, Way, Deep, Thousand
  • The Last Of August by Brittany Cavallaro

Witches & Witchcraft Challenge

2017 Witches & Witchcraft Reading ChallengeGoals: 1/16 Witchy books

Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1)

And that has been my January. I am trying to pick up the slack in February, but not that hard. I will take it at my pace.

9 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up

  1. Ohh I feel so much better knowing I’m not the only one who is SO FAR BEHIND on my reading. Idk why I did this to myself but after I get through these galleys and scheduled readings, I’m just reading what I want. 😂 Great post!

      • Honestly, I’m in the middle of like 5 books right now, including 2 galleys. The best part is one of the galleys is for a tour I’m supposed to post for on Monday….. thankfully, it’s a short one and I’ll have it finished by tomorrow. Hopefully. Why do we do this to ourselves?

        • I don’t know. We are rebels even when it comes to our own rules! I’m currently in middle of two TBR pile books and have 5 galleys for which reviews are to be written ( finished reading them).

            • Even I do so. I usually write the review and only then move onto the next. But like I was saying, I was in a bad state. I just wanted to get through books and not be in my real life

              • I definitely hear you there. I’m pretty sure that’s what I’m doing so far this year as well. I’ve especially been loving the immersive YA books I’ve been able to read recently. Caraval, Noteworthy, and The Star-Touched Queen have been my favorites so far this year. Still working on writing the review for Noteworthy though. I need more immersive books! Real life is just….no.

  2. I feel once a reading slump hit it is a hard one to overcome because you just feel like you are slipping behind, but reading is supposed to be relaxing and fun! So don’t worry to much about the challenges! Good luck on your paper Science is definitely a hard industry/topic since it is ever evolving.

    • Reading slumps are the worst. Combined with an ever growing TBR, it feels terrible. Like, reading is the one thing I can rely on to do well. But when even that becomes difficult, it is like – what am I even doing with my life

Leave a Reply

