June Wrap-Up

Half the year has gone by, and it has been a good reading experience for me (it always is, tbh). For starters, I think this is the first time I have been consistently ahead of my reading challenge progresses this far in the game.

First off, Goodreads Reading Challenge:

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Krutula has
read 152 books toward
her goal of
200 books.
hide

14 full-length books, 1 novella and 1 graphic novel, bringing the tally to 16 books this month and a total of 152 books (including those in July). I am a quarter away from my goal, ya’ll!

Books I loved

The Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1) The Rose Society (The Young Elites, #2)

Books I liked

And I Darken (The Conquerors Saga #1) Relentless (The Hero Agenda, #2)

With Malice Ivory and Bone Remade How to Disappear Voice of Gods (Blood of Gods and Royals, #0.5)

Books that were good but could have been better

What Happens Now The Marked Girl (Marked Girl, #1) Unplugged (The Wired, #1) The Darkest Lie

Legacy of Kings Empire of Dust (Blood of Gods and Royals, #2) I.D.


Bookhaul

June #bookhaul I added 12 books, only 1 of which I managed to read.

A post shared by Krutula (@ruthsic) on



Since I keep buying books, I try to reduce that pile as often. This month I managed to read 5 books off my TBR pile

The Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1) The Rose Society (The Young Elites, #2) Legacy of Kings
Progress: 28/26 !!


I’m counting only full-length novels for this challenge, so my shelf numbers and this here differs. For June:

Urban fantasy    Relentless (The Hero Agenda, #2) The Marked Girl (Marked Girl, #1) Girl on a Wire

Historical fantasy/Alternate history Legacy of Kings Empire of Dust (Blood of Gods and Royals, #2)

Fantasy in different worlds  The Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1) The Rose Society (The Young Elites, #2)

Progress: 68/100


 The Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1)

Progress: 25/52 (right on track!)



And I Darken (The Conquerors Saga #1)

Canon gay main character in And I Darken
Progress: 9/6



Since this is a point-based challenge, I’ll break it down

The Rose Society (#2 of The Young Elites) – 2pts

Voice of Gods (prequel novella of Legacy of Kings) – 1pt

Progress: 115/51 points



Futuristic

  Unplugged (The Wired, #1) I.D.

Progress: 16/11

Goals achieved!



Remade

A post-apocalyptic novel about a deadly virus outbreak that regresses every living thing to a pre-evolved state. Fun times!
Progress: 6/11



Anything before 2016

The Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1) The Rose Society (The Young Elites, #2) Legacy of Kings

 Progress: 33/100


Only 12 galleys read this month.

Progress: 92/100


The Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1) The Rose Society (The Young Elites, #2) have a POC heroine, as well as a bi/pan-sexual secondary character with a POV  And I Darken (The Conquerors Saga #1) has a main character that is gay, and the setting is in Turkey I.D. has a trans character

Progress: 25/26 (so close!)


With Malice What Happens Now How to Disappear The Darkest Lie

Progress: 32/21



Ivory and Bone is a genderbent retelling of Pride and Prejudice, while  And I Darken (The Conquerors Saga #1) is a genderbent alternate history of Vlad the Impaler

Progress: 19/26


The Young Elites series (read till the latest book)

Progress: 6/12 series (right on track!)


 

No series enders this month either

Progress: 14/7 (Expert series reader)


GRAPHIC NO ICONS

No progress on this front, either


The Book Nympho No new audiobooks read this month. I keep listening and re-listening to the Raven King while in lab.

Progress: 9/15 audiobooks


Top Ten Tuesdays

Top ten most anticipated releases of the second half of 2016

Top ten favorite 2016 releases so far


Book Blogger Hop

June 3-9

June 17-23

June 24-30


In May, I made some rules for myself, which included a restraint on book-buying, but since I ended up with 12 new books this month anyway, I have instated a book buying ban from July. In the spirit of reading more and traveling more, I took my copy of The Young Elites to see the sights around Tokyo. It may also be a new feature that I am working, so I guess you’ll have to see how that turns out.

Also, I am getting a bit more serious about my book photography; instead of just, you know, snapping pics as I get them, I am hoping to create something beautiful for these works of art (the book covers, I mean).

#theyoungelites looking pretty with white #hydrangeas

A post shared by Krutula (@ruthsic) on

One thought on “June Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: Mid-Year Check-In | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

