ARC Review: I.D.

I.D.
I.D. by Emma Ríos
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A dystopian tale that analyzes the conflict between perception and identity through the struggle of three people who consider a ‘body transplant’ as a solution to their lives.

I was intrigued by the premise of the novel – body transplantation in a dystopic world, where three people want to change their identities. Even the artwork was looking good (despite that weird red ink used for the art) and was overflowing with details, and it felt like the book was off to a promising start, in the first few pages itself. Three people who, for three different reasons want to try out this new experimental body transplant – one trans boy who wants to transition into a real male body, an ex-convict who wants to be free of his imposing-looking body, and a middle-aged woman with suicidal tendencies. The world also seemed interesting, with the backdrop of extraterrestrial human settlements and slave labor. The three of them get to know each other, and discuss why they do not want to live in their current bodies. BUT, halfway through, the book decides to get into the science of it, extensively. As a biological researcher myself, I appreciated that the author went so well into the core of the research, the possible applications of optogenetics for something like this, but I also felt that it distracted from the main storyline, that is, identity and psychology. The last arc was a bit confusing, and the dystopia wasn’t even explained fully. Knowing that this book was pretty short, I shouldn’t have expected much, but by then end there was also the feeling that the story ultimately amounted to not much. Overall, I would give kudos for the artwork and the idea, but the execution was lacking.

Recieved a free galley from Diamond Book Distributors, via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: I.D.

  1. This sounds so good! I haven’t heard about it until now o.o too bad it didn’t amount to much though. It always stinks when that happens, especially if a book sounds good :/

Leave a Reply

