Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite 2016 Releases So Far

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. Can you believe half the year has gone by? I can remember picking up my first book of 2016 (The Shadow Queen, fyi) like it was yesterday! And there have been many awesome releases that followed. Here are some of them that I loved: (click on images for review)

 The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)

The Raven King was undoubtedly the highlight of the year for me. I was waiting for it for months and it was every bit worth the wait. Do you know, I still can’t think about Cabeswater without bursting into tears?

The Girl from Everywhere (The Girl from Everywhere, #1) This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1)

The Girl from Everywhere was the strongest debut so far, and the universe of it is pretty unique. So is the one for This Savage Song, a Victoria Schwab first for me, which is an urban fantasy. Both books are light on the romance and heavy on plot and characters.

My Lady Jane A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2) A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes, #1)

These three retellings stole my heart! My Lady Jane was absolutely hilarious, A Court of Mist and Fury was devastating and beautiful, and A Study in Charlotte showed us a strong yet flawed Holmes.

Unhooked The Serpent King Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1) The Crown's Game (The Crown's Game, #1)

Unhooked was a great Peter Pan retelling with a sexy pirate to root for. The Serpent King is a book you can’t read without crying uncontrollably during the second half. Lady Midnight gave a wide range of complex characters and the beginning of a strong series. The Crown’s Game was a devastating tale of star-crossed lovers.

Honestly, 2016 has been so amazing in books, and there are so many more releases I have yet to read. Which were you favorite releases this year?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite 2016 Releases So Far

  1. Omg this is such an exciting list! I LOVE IT!! I absolutely adored The Raven King too OMGGGG ❤ Although i'm actually devastated it's all over though because I want mooooore Stiefvater books. ALL THE STIEFVATER BOOKS. Ahem. *composes self* Also The Girl From Everywhere was incredible so I’m glad to find a fellow fan! *hi fives* I have the Serpent King and Unhooked on my TBR and I can’t wait to get to them. 😀 Here’s my TTT!

    • Seriously, if she wants to keep writing The Raven Cycle, I am not complaining! It is her best work, including The Scorpio Races. I am definitely excited for the two series she is now working on.

      The Girl from Everywhere climbed pretty fast to the top of my time travel favorites. Glad to meet a fellow fan. *high fives back*

      Hope you enjoy The Serpent King (who am I kidding – you are going to cry) and Unhooked too!

  2. I thought about adding A Study in Charlotte to my list- I really enjoyed it and I’m not even a huge fan of Holmes and Watson! 😉 Loved The Raven King (which most definitely made my list) and This Savage Song (what’s wrong with me, I left it out!). So much love for The Crown’s Game (made my list too!). With the exception of Lady Midnight, all the rest are on my tbr. And I’ll probably get Lady Midnight anyway, because I have a thing about collecting books with the word ‘Midnight’ in their titles. 😉

    My Top Ten Tuesday

  3. I may need to start the Raven Cycle books. I am seeing them everywhere! I checked out A Court of Mist and Fury from my library but had to return it before reading because someone else wanted it. I’m back on the hold list now. Wonderful list and thanks for sharing!

  4. Ooo. A Peter Pan retelling! I’m keeping an eye out for those. I’ll be adding this one to the list. The Raven King has received a ton of great praises. I’m planning to read the series next month. Hope I’ll be able to do it.

  5. It is kind of ridiculous how much I cried while reading The Serpent King – especially the second half of the book was a complete tearjerker.
    Thanks for sharing these and happy reading! 🙂

  6. Pingback: June Wrap-Up | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

