Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half Of The Year

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. 2016 has already been a great year for books. There were some truly beautiful books I have read this past few months, and there are so many more I am looking forward to. Here’s the ones I am excited for for the second half of the year!

July

The Siege (The Six #2)Siege by Mark Alpert

Sequel to The Six, this science fiction series is about a group of teens whose consciousness has been downloaded into robotic bodies to fight Ultron Sigma, an AI hell bent on destroying humanity (seriously, why are they always doing that?). The first book had raised some interesting questions on humanity and what it means to be a person – whether it just chemicals, the memories created, the organic nature of life –  and I am really looking forward to the direction where the sequel will go.

Releases on: July 5

27272505A World Without You by Beth Revis

I’m so excited for Revis’ next novel, which is a realistic fiction about a boy who thinks he can travel in time. It will be certainly interesting to see how Revis tackles this genre, since she has mostly written sci-fi so far.

Releases on: July 19

August

WaxWax by Gina Damico

Gina Damico’s books are always filled with humor, against some seriously messed up backgrounds, and this one is about a wax factory and people made of wax. Sounds creepy and thrilling!

Releases on: August 2

A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes, #2)A Torch Against the Night

Sequel to An Ember in the Ashes, the story continues with Laia and Elias on the run while Helene is trapped with that malicious tyrant Marcus. The world is kinda Roman-inspired, and with a Mediterranean setting.

Releases on: August 30

September

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5)Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

The fifth installment in the Throne of Glass series – a series I have a personal fondness for since the book releases close to my birthday, like Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows. I am excited to see how Aelin claims her throne back, and terrified who Maas might kill in this book. (Please not Aedion)

Releases on: September 6

I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream GirlI’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl by Gretchen McNeil

I’d read anything by her, so it didn’t take much for me to be excited for this book. It’s a little different from the usual thriller fare she writes, as this is supposedly about a girl who discovers that the manic pixie dream girl trope is a not all it is cracked up to be.

Releases on: September 13

Frost Like Night (Snow Like Ashes, #3)Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch

The finale in the Snow Like Ashes series, it promises a show-down between Meira and Angra. Honestly, I am just looking forward to the aftermath of that betrayal in Ice Like Fire, which sank my ship to the bottomless depths of the sea of failed ships. I know its not about the romance, but about Meira coming into her own as the ruler of Winter, but damn it if I want to know what happens on that front too.

Releases on: September 20

The Swan Riders (Prisoners of Peace, #2)The Swan Riders by Erin Bow

Sequel to the Scorpion Rules, the other series about teens-turned-AI, the world is a dystopia in which an AI overlord keeps the countries of the world at peace by holding the children of their leaders hostage. Greta, now an AI, will see the world on both sides of the coin. Must I also mention that it has an openly bisexual protagonist?

Releases on: September 20

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire (Untitled, #1)Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge

Hodge using her brilliant writing to retell Romeo and Juliet, in a possibly dark context? You don’t know how much restraint I am utilizing to not start reading that galley I have right away! She is one of my recent favorites and knowing her beautiful style and complex characters, I have high hopes for this one.

Releases on: September 27

October

Replica (Replica, #1)Replica by Lauren Oliver

Oliver’s next sci-fi dystopia? I’m in. I don’t need to know much to know I have high hopes for this one. Also, it is supposed to have an interestingly structured narrative, so restraint exercised on reading that galley.

Releases on: October 4

GlitterGlitter by Aprilynne Pike

Supposedly, this is a Breaking Bad in 18th century France kind of story. While I was not a viewer of the show, alternate history novels always interest me. Plus, Pike is a wonderful writer (I’ve read only one book of hers, but that was enough to convince me).

Releases on: October 25

November

HeartlessHeartless by Marissa Meyer

Marissa Meyer writing a new retelling, and about Wonderland’s infamous Queen of Hearts? What more encouragement do I need?

Releases on: November 8

A Million Worlds with You (Firebird, #3)A Million Worlds with You by Claudia Gray

The finale to the absolutely beautiful and magical multiverse of A Thousand Pieces of You is something I have been looking forward for since almost a year, more so because the way Ten Thousand Skies Above You ended. This series redefined YA romance for me, and I am a little heartbroken over it going to end, too. Sadly, I don’t even have the comfort of a galley.

Releases on: November 1

So, these were my anticipated releases from the secondhalf of 2016. Which books are you all looking forward to?

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half Of The Year

    • Thanks! I had done it in the same format for the first half of the year, and thought I should keep it similar. Plus it looks neater this way, I guess? 🙂

  1. Pingback: June Wrap-Up | YA on my Mind

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

