May Wrap-Up

May, the month of ARCs (at least for me, since I was participating in an ARC challenge), has ended, and while I had planned to read more this month, I was also a bit caught up in other things. Since spring is in full swing and the weather is already getting hot, I had planned to go out and explore, but alas, laziness, procrastination and anxiety have mostly confined me to my house. If I was still reading, I could still forgive myself, but I think I just wasted time away on most of my weekends. Nevertheless, I still managed to read plenty enough:

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Krutula has
read 129 books toward
her goal of
200 books.
hide

19 full-length books, 2 short stories, and 1 audiobook (re-read). I am still ahead on my main challenge, which is always a good thing to see. Getting behind is really stressful.

Books I loved

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1) A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1) A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2) My Lady Jane This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1)

Books I liked

Unforgivable (Invincible, #2) The Outliers (The Outliers, #1) The Fire Sermon (The Fire Sermon, #1) Red as Blood and White as Bone 100 Days of Cake

Girl Against the Universe The Pigeon Summer: A Tor.Com Original The Cage (The Cage, #1) The Hunt (The Cage, #2) Emancipated (Emancipated, #1)

Books that were good but could have been better

  Heir to the Sky Invincible (Invincible, #1) The Map of Bones (The Fire Sermon, #2) Spark Frayed Powerless (The Hero Agenda, #1)

Ugh no

The Beautiful Pretender (Thornbeck #2)


Clean Sweep ARC Challenhe
GOALS: 20 ARCS
Read: 14
I was so excited for this challenge, and while I am happy to have read 14 ARCs, some of which were old ones, I still feel a little bad about not completing the challenge.

Invincible Unforgivable The Outliers The Map of Bones 100 Days of Cake The Beautiful Pretender Girl Against the Universe Spark The Cage Frayed My Lady Jane This Savage Song

Caffeinated's 24 HR ARC Readathon

The Hunt Emancipated



This month I was determined to reduce my TBR pile, especially the print books that is literally a pile by my bedside. I finished at the start of the month, but pretty soon I went into a book-buying frenzy and the pile is back up again.

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1) Heir to the Sky A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2) Powerless (The Hero Agenda, #1)
Progress: 25/26 (so close!)


Fantasy is my jam! I’m counting only full-length novels for this challenge, so my shelf numbers and this here differs.

Urban fantasy Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1) Spark This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1) Powerless (The Hero Agenda, #1)

Historical fantasy/Alternate history My Lady Jane

Fantasy in different worlds  Heir to the Sky The Fire Sermon (The Fire Sermon, #1)

Retelling  A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)
Progress: 66/100


The Fire Sermon (The Fire Sermon, #1) Powerless (The Hero Agenda, #1)

Both books have been published for more than a year

Progress: 24/52



Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1) Emancipated (Emancipated, #1)

Canon LGBT main characters in each
Progress: 8/6



Since this is a point-based challenge, I’ll break it down

The Map of Bones (#2 in The Fire Sermon) – 2pt
The Beautiful Pretender (#2 in The Thornbeck Chronicles) – 2pt
A Court of Mist and Fury (#2 in A Court of Thorns and Roses – 2pt
The Hunt (#2 in The Cage) – 2pt

Progress: 112/51 points



Post-apocalyptic

The Fire Sermon (The Fire Sermon, #1) The Map of Bones (The Fire Sermon, #2) This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1)

Space/Aliens

The Cage (The Cage, #1) The Hunt (The Cage, #2)
Progress: 14/11

Goals achieved!



I’m actually getting behind on this challenge, since I have not read a horror book in some time.
Progress: 5/11



Anything before 2016, which were the following two:

The Fire Sermon (The Fire Sermon, #1) Powerless (The Hero Agenda, #1)
Progress: 30/100



Though I was devoting May to ARCs, there were some non-ARCs I had read for the RockMyTbr challenge, making the count for ARCs lower – 14 galleys read this month, opposed to the planned 20. Good news is, I am still ahead on this challenge number-wise, but considering my goal is to get that 80% ratio, I’m far behind.
Progress: 80/100


The Fire Sermon (The Fire Sermon, #1) The Map of Bones (The Fire Sermon, #2) has an apartheid-like society centered around ableist ideals

The Pigeon Summer: A Tor.Com Original Agender/transgender protagonist. Emancipated (Emancipated, #1) Gay main character

The Cage (The Cage, #1) The Hunt (The Cage, #2) Main characters of different ethnicities

Progress: 21/26


Unforgivable (Invincible, #2) Invincible (Invincible, #1) 100 Days of Cake Girl Against the Universe Emancipated (Emancipated, #1) Frayed

Except for Emancipated, which was a coming-of-age/mystery, the others were psychological dramas.

Progress: 28/21



A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2) is a loose retelling of the Hades-Persephone myth while My Lady Jane is an alternate history of the beheading og Jane Grey, the nine-day queen.

Progress: 17/26


No complete series read this month 😦

Progress: 5/12 series


 

No enders read this month.

Progress: 14/7 (Expert series reader)


GRAPHIC NO ICONS

No progress on this front, either


The Book Nympho A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

Progress: 9/15 audiobooks


So, over the course of May I made some new book-related rules for myself, like reading at least one book from the physical pile, getting a bookshelf for said pile (it’s been a year in this house already!), a little restraint on the book-buying, and just trying to read ARCs at least a week before publishing date. Now, how long I will follow these rules is a big question…

And finally I leave you with my May book haul
image

2 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: Mid-Year Check-In | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

