April Wrap-Up

April was a slow month for me, compared to others, because though I started off strong in the first few days, soon I was pining for The Raven King. It became so that I was only listening to audiobooks of the first three in the three weeks that preceded it’s release, and barely could start another book without leaving it midway. This led to a constant 5 books being on my currently-reading, at any point of time. I took the slump in stride and waited patiently for my copy to arrive. No such luck yet, but since I had also pre-ordered the audiobook, that alleviated my longing much. But then after that, I made up for lost time:

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Krutula has
read 107 books toward
her goal of
200 books.
hide

So, finally I read 21 books in April, 19 full-lenth, 1 was an audiobook re-read, and another was a novella.

Don't Get Caught Tell the Wind and Fire The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen #1) The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen, #2) My Kind of Crazy

Dreamology Down with the Shine True Born (True Born Trilogy, #1) Queen of Hearts (Queen of Hearts Saga #1) Wild Swans

Suffer Love Traitor Angels Champion (Legend, #3) Ruined (Ruined, #1) Crimson Bound

The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4) Red Queen (Red Queen, #1) Cruel Crown (Red Queen, #0.1-#0.2) Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2) The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines, #6)

The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court, #1)



I had a very good time reading 7 good  books from my TBR:

The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen #1) Champion (Legend, #3) The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4) Cruel Crown (Red Queen, #0.1-#0.2) Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2) The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines, #6) The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court, #1)
Progress: 21/26


12 books in fantasy with the following I would recommend, with The Raven King being the top recommendation.
Tell the Wind and Fire The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen #1) The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen, #2) Dreamology Down with the Shine Ruined (Ruined, #1) Crimson Bound The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4) The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines, #6) The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court, #1)
Progress: 58/100


Only The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen #1) seemed to fit the criteria for the Backlist Challenge.

Progress: 22/52



Okay, this might be spoilery so –The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4) since there is a canonical queer relationship, and possibly a polyamorous one by the end of the book.
Progress: 6/6

Goals achieved!



Since this is a point-based challenge, I’ll break it down
Mirror King (#2 of Orphan Queen) – 2 pts
Champion (#3 of Legend) – 2 pts + 10 pts bonus (for completing the series)
The Raven King (#4 of The Raven Cycle – 2 pts + 10 pts bonus
Cruel Crown (#0.1-0.2 of Red Queen) – 1 pt
Glass Sword (#2 of Red Queen) – 2pt
The Ruby Circle (#6 of Bloodlines) – 2 pt + 10 pts

Progress: 104/51 points



Different types of dystopia – with Tell the Wind and Fire Champion (Legend, #3) as post-apocalyptic ones, True Born (True Born Trilogy, #1) Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2) as futuristic ones.
Progress: 9/11



No horror this month, unless you count the horror scenes in The Raven King! But the tally remains unchanged.
Progress: 5/11



Anything before 2016, which were the following three:

The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen #1) Champion (Legend, #3)Crimson Bound
Progress: 28/100



There are many books releasing on May 3rd (I don’t know why!) and majority of my galleys this month came from there, and I read a total of 12 this month.
Progress: 66/100


POC main characters  Champion (Legend, #3) LGBT main characters The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)

Progress: 16/26


 Don't Get Caught My Kind of Crazy Dreamology Wild Swans Suffer Love

I would recommend all the five contemporaries I read this month.

Progress: 22/21



Tell the Wind and Fire is a retelling of A Tale of Two Cities in a dystopic world, while Crimson Bound is a mash-up of Red Riding Hood and Hansel and Gretel in a dark vein

Progress: 15/26


  • Orphan Queen series

Progress: 5/12 series


 

The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen, #2) Champion (Legend, #3) The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4) The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines, #6)

4 series-enders read

Progress: 14/7 (Expert series reader)


GRAPHIC NO ICONS

No progress on this front


The Book NymphoThe Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4) Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)

Progress: 8/15 audiobooks


Well, that has been my April, and I look forward to the challenges in May. Not to mention the new books that will be arriving – I may gone a little overboard with my book buying this month.

How has your April been? Read any good books?

3 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: Mid-Year Check-In | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

