Book Blogger Hop: April 1-7

Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Coffee Addicted Writer

This week’s question is:

Have you ever ventured out of your comfort zone in terms of reading a genre you have never read? If so, did you get hooked on that new genre?

Answer:

Oh, I have ventured but not always with success. There was the time I ventured into fantasy with Maria V Snyder’s Poison Study (I was mostly reading urban fantasy/paranormal romance before that) and discovered that I loved it more than imagined magic in our world. But then there was the time I wanted to get into New Adult and started with Easy by Tammara Webber, but after that all books I read (very few, I agree) felt like variations of the same (including this boring one by Redmerski) and I left the genre. With contemporary YA, I am more like – I’ll read it while my liking for it lasts. Then there was the time I read a steampunk novel and liked it, but am not in love with the genre yet. Dystopian was a surprise for me – I didn’t think morbid apocalyptic worldscapes (most of dystopia is that, okay?) would be intriguing to me but I loved it. I, however, am still looking for something in the lines of Kim Harrison’s Hollows series in YA.

 

7 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: April 1-7

    • I know what you mean. My mind sometimes tries to fill out incomplete books in my dreams, if I leave a book halfway before sleeping. So, books that might give me nightmares are usually kept for daytime.

  1. I find mixing up my reading goes a long way to keeping me from growing tired of a genre I enjoy. If I read too much of one genre back to back, it’s easy to get burnt out.

    • Me too. I usually switch out genres while reading. Like if I read a fantasy, I follow it with a realistic fiction, or sci-fi. I try never to read two similar books back to back.

    • I think its okay if one sticks to a genre, if one likes it enough. Diversifying is good, but ultimately it should be if one is interested in the topic, rather than just for the sake of trying out. Yes, one may be surprised but life is short and TBR lists are long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

