Review: City of Heavenly Fire

City of Heavenly Fire
City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Erchomai, Sebastian had said. I am coming.

Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in this world can defeat him – must they journey to another world to find the chance?

This epic (I mean, really epic) conclusion of The Mortal Instruments was something I had been putting off since more than a year. The sheer size of the book alone was enough to discourage me from reading, since I usually like to read in a stretch and didn’t have the willingness to devote half a day to reading this entirely. That being said, once I started it, I didn’t even notice the time go by. The writing moves fluidly from one character to the next, and the series has always had a layered structure to it, lending a multi-arc plot that engages you from the very start. The best thing I have always liked is the witty quips the characters make, the love they have for each other, and especially the bonds they create. Clary has to defeat her brother Sebastian to protect the Shadow World from his evil minion warrior, whom he is creating from the Shadowhunters themselves. It is a time of great upheaval, because Downworld and Shadowhunters have not always had the best relations with each other. A great message to take away from the book is how hate begets hate, and clinging to differences can drive a wedge in understanding one another.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: City of Heavenly Fire

  1. Pingback: 24 hour Take Control TBR Pile Read-A-Thon – Wrap-Up | YA on my Mind

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: My Most Recent 5 Star Reads | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

