Top Ten Tuesday: Songs that I wish were books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. This week is a freebie music theme, so I chose to present songs that I wish were books. Yeah, some songs have brilliant stories as music videos, but for these it’s the lyrics themselves that make me yearn for someone to write a story.

Radioactive by Imagine Dragons

Yes, I am aware this is basically a dystopian anthem and suits almost every one of them, but the song itself is very interesting. I would want to see this world, this terrible terrible world. Maybe it could also have those plushie-fights from the video?

Seven Devils by Florence + The Machine

This one speaks of retribution, and vengeance. It actually fits Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas, but it would also make for a great story. Sadly there is no video for it.

Breezeblocks by Alt-J

This one has a pretty ingenious music video – the story is in reverse, but has different meanings on how you go – forward or backward. Would make for an interesting murder thriller.

Tyrant by OneRepublic

It has a dark and mysterious vibe, which makes me think of a complicated and layered protagonist. Perhaps a psychological thriller?

Soul Meets Body by Death Cab for Cutie

This is more of a self-discovery song for me, but I would love it in a magic realism setting, or a multiverse setting?

Dead in the Water by Ellie Goulding

This maybe about a lost love, but I think a twist with a siren abandoned/betrayed by her love would make for a good story.

Indaco by Ludovico Einaudi

This song has an otherworldly feel. I remember when I first heard it I was mesmerized, and a story took shape in my head – of dreams, of innocent dream creatures being devoured by the cruelty of reality. I think I still have that outline lying around, but since my creative writing skills suck, I never went further.

Bad Blood by Taylor Swift

No, this would make for an awesome story actually! Set in a fantasy world, with assassins and stuff – a fast-paced action about two best friends who turn against each other. Yep, I would totally read it.

The One That Got Away by The Civil Wars

About a relationship you can’t get away from, this song speaks of people staying together out of familiarity than true desire. It also brings forth the idea that relationships change, and sometimes things seem so perfect at the start. Maybe that nostalgia keeps them together – it would make for an intense story, with memories and resentment warring in their minds.

The Hanging Tree by Suzanne Collins

Technically, it is already part of a book, but I was always intrigued by the true story of The Hanging Tree. What had actually happened?

Which songs would you love to see as books?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Songs that I wish were books

  1. OH MY GOODNESS you did not!!! Seven Devils would be such a good novel; intense, thought-provoking, engaging – gah! It would just be SO good. Also, I love your other choices – you have such good taste in music ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d be so excited to see how Radioactive, and The Hanging Tree are brought to the bookish world!

    I would love it if you could check out my take of this week’s TTT topic if/when you have a few spare moments (no obligation though, of course!)

    https://introtoblurb.wordpress.com/2016/02/16/top-ten-tuesday-songs-as-books/

    I wish I had put Seven Devils in now… that’s definitely going to be in my head for the duration of the day now aha!

    Awesome blog ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

