Top Ten Tuesday: series I resolve to finish in 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. I am an avid series fanatic but really bad at keeping up with them. I will binge-read a series, rather than wait every agonizing year for the next ones. That was what I did before I started blogging. But now, with galleys to read, and all those gorgeous photosets on Tumblr, it is no longer ideal to keep a series on hold. So, this year in lieu of personal resolutions (which I end up breaking anyway, I decided to instead resolve to finish series. After all, as John Oliver says, the key to resolutions is not to keep them, but how to revise them when you have failed. So, I am going with manageable resolutions this year. And now, with my rambling at an end, lets see those series!

1. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

I have yet to read the last one, and until I do that I can’t move onto The Dark Artifices. (well actually I can, since the series in the Shadowhunters Chronicles are all separate, but I am a stickler for rules, okay?). It’s been more than a year since I have had the book, and I it taunts me daily from its perch.

2. Gallagher Girls by Ally Carter

I'd Tell You I Love You, Bu... Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy Don't Judge a Girl by Her C... Only the Good Spy Young Out of Sight, Out of Time United We Spy
Another series where only the last book stands between me and completion. This series, however, I am also planning to re-read, so that I can brush up on it as well as let it contribute to my Prequels and Sequels challenge.

3. Covenant by Jennifer L Armentrout

Half-Blood Pure Deity Apollyon Sentinel
Once again, last book remains. It seems to be a trend for me. Maybe I have issues with letting go of things?

4. Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Everneath Everbound Evertrue
I am not even going to say it – from the above examples you know why this series is not complete.

5. Newsoul by Jodi Meadows

Incarnate Asunder Infinite
*hangs head in shame*
And this is such a beautiful and interesting series, too! I haven’t started her other series because I read only one series of an author at a time. It is a vestigial habit from my series-binge days.

6. Cahill Witch Chronicles by Jessica Spotswood

Born Wicked Star Cursed Sisters' Fate
Another series I love but haven’t read the last book. *le sigh*

7. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

Pretty Little Liars Flawless Perfect Unbelievable Wicked Killer Heartless
In my defense, I considered this series complete at book 8, but then Shepard had to go and continue it to another 8 books (so far), making it 16 books plus one novella. I got till 13 books then gave up and waited for it to end so I could binge-read this mystery (it’s difficult to remember details after a year). At this point, I am completing the series just because I need closure, damn it!

8. Hourglass by Myra McEntire

Hourglass Timepiece Infinityglass
I vaguely remember the details of this time travel series, but I do remember that I had enjoyed it immensely. To finish I still have to read Infinityglass, but that will require a re-read of the first two.

9. Legend by Marie Lu

Legend Prodigy Champion
I think I’ve mentioned enough timed that I have yet to acquire Champion and read it.

10. Paper Gods by Amanda Sun

Ink Rain Storm
I have yet to read the second novella, Rise, and the final book, Storm.

So, these are the series I resolve to complete this year, and (fingers crossed) hoping I am better at reading resolutions than personal ones.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: series I resolve to finish in 2016

  1. I never read a lot of these series. I watched Pretty Little Liars but after the millionth season I gave up with it. I don’t think I’d have the patience to relive everything in the books. x_x

    • yeah, and with the number of books I have read in my lifetime, the details get fuzzy within a few months. Re-reading is rarely an option with my neverending TBR, so it is difficult at times to restart a series.

      That being said, we can always hope to return to it in some way. Best of luck with your TBR goals, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

