Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases For The First Half of 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. 2016 is looking like a great year for books. Don’t believe me? Here’s the ones I am excited for for the first half of the year!

January

Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1)Truthwitch by Susan Dennard sounds interesting – it’s a high fantasy set in a world where there are ‘witches’ (obvious from the title) who have abilities. And after the Something Strange and Deadly series, I know Susan Dennard writes awesome badass heroines, so I am looking forward to this one.

The other amazing release this month is Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. Now, since I have already read and reviewed it, it doesn’t really come under ‘anticipated’ for me, but had I not had a galley of it, that surely would have been!

Release date: January 5

February

The Shadow Queen (Ravenspire, #1)  This one is a retelling of Snow White, but I guess things will turn darker since the ‘Snow White’ Lorelai is herself a sorceress, and the prince is the huntsman. I actually have a galley of this, but not reading it yet. There are other earlier galleys in queue (sob!). Anyway, since the Defiance trilogy (which was medieval-post-apocalyptic), I have been waiting for Redwine’s next. Must I say, even the cover is very very appealing!

Release date: February 16

Remembrance (The Mediator, #7)

No, really, it has been 12 years since the last book was published in the Mediator series. Twilight, the 6th book, was published in 2004. There is going to be a novella called Proposal published earlier in February, but it has literally been so long even for me (I must have read this series in 2008-2009, I don’t remember!) I thought the series was complete but hell if I am not excited for any further adventures of my favorite medium Suze and ghost-turned-human Jesse.

Release date: February 2

Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2)The sequel for one of the best 2015 debuts, Red Queen, is something I think we all fans are excited for. Will it live up to its predecessor? Only time will tell – though advance reviews by the lucky ones who got the ARCs suggest that it is going to be one hell of a sequel. Plus, quote updates on Aveyard’s Tumblr promise a lot of excitement and plot twists, and also a lot of pain. Seeing that I am a Mareven shipper, but also conflicted over Maven’s deception, I am so anxious for this book.

Release date: February 9

March

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)Okay, I haven’t read City of Heavenly Fire completely (I got till 220 pages 8 months ago) but I am still excited for this first book in The Dark Artifices. Emma Carstairs seems to be a formidable heroine, and I am eager to see what new trials await our heroes in LA.

Release date: March 8

Relic

If you know me, you know I have been gushing about Gretchen Mcneil these past few months. So, although there are two books of hers I have yet to read, I am still excited for this horror one.

Release date: March 8

The Great HuntAfter the angel-demon saga that was the Sweet Trilogy, I am looking forward to this fairytale retelling (my weakness!) by Higgins. Said to be based on the Singing Bone (never heard of that one, sorry) by the Grimm brothers (which means I will sure as hell not read the original), this one promises to be a romantic high fantasy.

Release date: March 8

April

April is going to be an awesome month. You know why? Because of these awesome releases.

The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)

Now I know I never play favorites in my Top Ten list, but honestly if I am allowed to read only one book from 2016, my answer will unflinchingly be The RAVEN KING by Maggie Stiefvater. It’s the conclusion to the series and I am sooooo excited for it!!!

Release date: April 26

The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court, #1)

After the awesomeness of Vampire Academy and its spinoff, Bloodlines, The Glittering Court is a fresh new fantasy series by Richelle Mead set in “set in a mix of Elizabethan and frontier worlds“. So, there, that’s all it takes for me to get excited. Plus, it IS Richelle Mead so high hopes for this one. Oh, and that cover model looks so much like Zoey Deutch, the actress who played Rose Hathaway, right?

Release date: April 5

Heir to the SkyAfter her Paper Gods series, Amanda Sun comes out with a new book, this one set in a kingdom of floating continents. Sounds mostly dystopian-fantasy like, and I am hella excited!

Release date: April 26

May

The Last Star (The 5th Wave, #3)2016 is going to be such an amazing year for The 5th wave fans. We have the first movie and the third (final) book coming out. It’s a double treat!

Release date: May 24

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)

Since there is no news yet of a 5th Throne of Glass novel, we might as well comfort ourselves with the fact that we at least get the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses, which was a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. A Court of Mist and Fury is set a few months after it, and has elements of the Hades-Persephone myth. No cover yet, but hey, excited for that too.

Release date: May 3

 

So, these were my anticipated releases from the first half of 2016. Which books are you all looking forward to?

 

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases For The First Half of 2016

    • Ooh hearing good things about Truthwitch already!

      You should give SS&D a go. Even I had initially put it off but once I started the series, I couldn’t stop! That one’s highly recommended.

    • Oh I’ll take your word for Truthwitch! It’s Susan Dennard, anyway, so high hopes for that one.

      I’m excited for the cover of ACOMAF too! It’s strange that they haven’t released it yet. Any news as to when it might be revealed?

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To | YA on my Mind

Leave a Reply

