Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. This week it’s about authors that I’ve read for the first time in 2015. Naturally, it does not involve debuts, for simplicity’s sake.

Marie LuLegend (Legend, #1)Marie Lu Prodigy (Legend, #2)Life Before Legend (Legend,...

I finally read the Legend series, though I have yet to read the finale, Champion. Great writing, good world-building, and I will hopefully read Young Elites in the next year.

David LevithanSix Earlier Days (Every Day...Every Day (Every Day, #1) Another Day (Every Day, #2)Will Grayson, Will GraysonDavid Leviathan

These books just left me crying on the floor okay? And I’m still a little miffed that we still don’t know what happened to A.

Gretchen McNeil3:59 Get Even (Don't Get Mad, #1) Get Dirty (Don't Get Mad, #2)Gretchen McNeil

The sci-fi 3:59 was good, but the Don’t Get Mad series was what made me fall in  love with her writing.

Susan Dennard Something Strange and Deadl... A Darkness Strange and Love... Strange and Ever After (Som... Susan Dennard

A very beautiful and painful series, which makes me a little scared to read any other book of hers for now. Someday, I will, though.

Holly SmaleGeek Girl (Geek Girl, #1) Model Misfit (Geek Girl, #2) Holly Smale

Oh, I loved this adorable series of a geek girl suddenly becoming a model. It’s cute, but also has good writing, depth to characters, and loads of humor.

Rin ChupecoThe Girl from the Well (The... The Suffering (The Girl fro... Rin Chupeco

This urban-fantasy-turned-tale is equal parts awesome and horrific. The horror is real, and Okiku is the dark protagonist we have always wanted.

Gillian FlynnGone Girl Gillian Flynn

Speaking of dark protagonists, Gillian Flynn made me question my own morality when I was struggling with whom to empathize with in this shocking book. Granted, it is not YA, but I loved it despite its genre.

Erin BowThe Scorpion Rules (Prisone...Erin Bow

I loved The Scorpion Rules – it is dystopian, has diversity, an antagonist you can’t hate and actually agree with, plus robots. Like, what more could you ask for?

Joelle CharbonneauNeed Joelle Charbonneau

Okay, I have yet to start with The Testing, but how good was Need! I am definitely more excited to read Testing after it.

Kody KeplingerThe DUFF: Designated Ugly F...Kody Keplinger

She was on my TBR because of A Midsummer’s Nightmare, but when I saw the DUFF movie, I went for that first. And my, is it way better than the movie! The issues discussed are such a main part of the story, and so much was edited from the movie that I got a little pissed at Hollywood.

 

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2015

  1. Yessss! I had Kody Keplinger on my TBR for ages too. And I went for The DUFF first only because I really wanted to see the film and I have a rule about always reading the book first.

    I haven’t read half these authors on your list here.. I’ll have to sort that out next year!!

  2. Gillian Flynn totally made my list also!! Gone Girl was SO addicting and crazy. If you haven’t read Sharp Objects yet, I totally recommend!! It’s just as twisted. I also want to read more from Gretchen McNeil. I enjoyed Ten, but want to see what the Get Even series is like!! Great list 🙂

    • Oh, Gillian Flynn is amazing but I’m still not over Gone Girl, to start reading another book of hers yet. Maybe in the next year.

      As for Gretchen Mcneil, I haven’t read Ten yet, but I can vouch for the Get Even series.

  3. Great list! I love what I’ve read from David Levithan so far. I definitely need to find a copy of Another Day. And Kody Keplinger is a winner, too. I’ve not read The DUFF yet, but I should really get on that. I thought the movie was pretty good, so I’m sure I’ll love the book.

    My TTT!

Leave a Reply

