Top Ten Tuesday: Book To Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. This week we discuss the book-to-movie adaptations. Holiday season is coming soon, which means plenty of time for binge-watching movies. Not for me, though. I’ll be working in the lab, like the dutiful research student I am 😉

So, while I read plenty of books, I don’t catch up on as many adaptations. For instance, I haven’t even seen the LoTR movies yet. Anyway, here are the ones I really am looking forward to watching soon.

Shadowhunters

Okay, technically, it is not a movie, but I am still very excited about this adaptation. After the movie that bombed, we need this, okay? And I love this new casting – Alec, Simon and Isabelle are perfect, others I still am not decided on. And with a TV show, it can go more into the mythology of the stories, so fingers crossed that they make a good one.

Insurgent (2015) PosterInsurgent

Yes, as much as I love this series, I have yet not been able to make time to watch the movie. Seemed awesome in the trailer, and I wanted to see it in the theatre but with the move and all, I kind of lost interest. Now, someday I hope I’ll watch it.

Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (2015) PosterThe Scorch Trials

The Maze Runner was awesome and I look forward to watching this one too. Also, Dylan is kinda my favorite at the moment, so…

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2 (2015) PosterMockingjay 2

This one is kinda obvious. I mean, it is still the most popular YA dystopian story. Plus Katniss is even more badass in this one. Also, real or not real? *tears*

The 5th Wave (2016) PosterThe 5th Wave

It felt like eons had passed since they first announced the movie and the release of the trailers and the posters. I’m so excited for this movie – with its perfect casting, and all the awesomeness I was promised in the trailer.

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (2010) PosterVoyage of the Dawn Treader

I seriously have no excuse for this one. It’s been five years and I still haven’t watched it. I keep meaning to, then forget it. Sigh, maybe someday.

Gone Girl (2014) PosterGone Girl

I loved this twisted story, but am I ready to revisit it again? Probably not yet. I skimmed through the movie once (right after reading the book), like the start, but was kinda meh about it. I intend to watch it, though.

This is my list, at least of the books that I’ve read. There are others, but since I haven’t read those books, they didn’t make it here, like The Giver, The Book Thief, etc. Any suggestions of book-movie combos that would be great to get into?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book To Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To

  1. I’m quite excited for The 5th Wave too! And I agree…it feels like FOREVER since it’s been in the works. o.O I still need to read the book though, agh…*adds to to-do list* Also I’m excited for Shadowhunters though a little dubious because I LOVED the movie. XD But I think their casting for Alec/Magnus/Isabelle is SOOOO much better now! Here’s my TTT!

    • I liked the movie too, but let’s just admit, some things were taken too far. Like Jace putting his hand through the portal? Hodge an old man? Alec looking too old to be a teenager? I must admit they had amazing casting for Magnus Bane tho – Godfrey Gao was perfect and makes me doubt whether Harry Shum will live up to the character.

Leave a Reply

