Top Ten Tuesday: Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. Fairytale retellings – the genre I blindly add books from. No really, if the blurb mentions or alludes to being similar to a fairytale, I will immediately add it to my TBR. Figures, since the first books I ever was obsessed with were these set of illustrated fairytales I had. I must have read them a thousand times – even when I was past the age for it. So, fairytales have always had a fond place in my heart, but reimaging them in alternate universes? I’m totally for it.

So, here are my favorite retellings:

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Let’s face it – fantasy and space opera? Best combo ever! Meyer has blended the four famous fairytales – Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White, in a futuristic world with badass strong heroines (yes, even Cress) and giving representation to POC, all while keeping the spirit of the original stories. Oh, and I love the snippets alluding to the original tale before every book part.

Sisters Red (Fairytale Retellings, #1)Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce

These are actually a set of stories set in the same universe  – ours, and loosely based on the original stories, but with the common theme of wolves and maidens being taken by wolves. The whole series is pretty grim (hee-hee), but you will enjoy Pearce’s take on the stories of Red Riding Hood, Hansel & Gretel, The Little Mermaid, and The Snow Queen (haven’t read that one yet, but I am sure it is awesome)

Kill Me Softly (Beau Rivage, #1)Beau Rivage series by Sarah Cross

This is also a blend of characters from different fairytales, with the characters being the characters from the original stories in a modern world. It has been a while, but I do remember the main one being Bluebeard.

Between the LinesBetween the Lines by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

Technically, it’s not a retelling of a specific story, just has fairytale elements in it. The story revolves around a girl who finds a book in which the characters are actually alive, and the prince and she fall in love with another; only the issue is how to get him out of the book?

The School for Good and Evil (The School for Good and Evil, #1)The School for Good & Evil by Soman Chainani

Again, this one is not a specific retelling but uses fairytale elements. However, the plotline is very interesting, with the normally beautiful girl being the witch and the quiet frumpy type being the princess; also they are childhood friends. The dynamics between them is central to the plot, while the concept of fairytales being written as they are happening is the background.

BeastlyBeastly by Alex Flinn

Yeah, Beauty and the Beast retellings are quite in, with Cruel Beauty and A Court of Thorns and Roses on my TBR (when will I read them?!), but I would have to mention this sweet tale, which many of you may also be familiar with since it was adapted into a movie. The story actually is of the witch, Kendra, and the series is a saga of her misadventures.

EntwinedEntwined by Heather Dixon

This charming and magical retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, is quite entertaining. You will have to read it to experience it.

Splintered (Splintered, #1)Splintered by A G Howard

This dark retelling of Alice in Wonderland, with an Alice descendant who thinks she is insane – yep, I have you interested already, don’t I? – has a vividly imagined Wonderland and a fantastic twist. Must read!

Enchanted (Woodcutter Sisters #1)Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

A Frog Prince retelling – this story continues into two sequels, both of which I sadly haven’t read yet.

DevouredDevoured by Amanda Maroone

A Snow White retelling, with a paranormal twist. This was the book that made me realize I love dark fairytales. It continues the Snow White story, and has a fantastic storyline.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read

  1. Ahh I love fairy tales SO MUCH TOO. I would literally read any of them. x) And I’m like you and if someone even mentions a book has a whiff of a retelling? SIGN ME UP. XD I love Sisters Red and the sequel Sweetly! I haven’t read the next two but that’s just because my library doesn’t have them yet. xD And Marissa Meyer is obviously the queen of retellings. 😀 And Splintered is my favourite Wonderland retelling ever.
    Here’s my TTT!

Leave a Reply

