Review: Manga Classics: Great Expectations

Manga Classics: Great Expectations
Manga Classics: Great Expectations by Stacy King

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

After reading the manga adaptation of Emma, I was interested to take up this one, particularly because I’ve never read the original. Yes, I am guilty of not reading a famous classic, though, in my defense, after reading Oliver Twist in my childhood, it kind of put me off Dicken’s writing. Anyway, I wanted to see how I would enjoy a manga adaptation of a story I’ve never read before, and guess what, I really liked it. The storyline laid out in the manga, being the key points, was engaging and honestly, it makes me want to read the original now.

The artwork is also pretty good – definitely a step up from the one for Emma. The line drawings were beautiful, and enough attention was paid to detail, but not frivolously. It matched the theme of the book, which is somber, and I feel that was a good choice. The characters come out pretty well, and even though in one person narrative, the story came out pretty well.

Received a free galley from Udon Entertainment via Netgalley; this does not influence my opinions or review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

