Book Blogger Hop: July 17-23

Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Coffee Addicted Writer

This week’s question is:

Do you listen to audio books?

Answer:

I have tried, honestly, to read audio books. I find the idea very good – read a book on the go. But my style of reading? I get absorbed, which makes me ponder, and then suddenly I realize I have zoned off and missed the last few seconds. In a book, at least I can re-read a line; going back in audio books, particularly when on hands-free, is cumbersome. The last one I was reading, Hellhole by Gina Damico – I got through about 40%, when I used to walk to work. Now that I take my bike, I don’t listen to it anymore, and that book has been left unread.

Also, one thing I don’t like about audio books? One voice. When reading, I can change the voices in my head according to what would suit the character – but in an audio book, it’s just the same voice in different tones. The first time I heard a guy trying to speak a girl’s dialogue in a falsetto, I cringed.

Then there is also timing. Audio books take longer to complete. A 9 hour audio book would take me 3 hours to read.

Simply speaking, this format is not for me. I have better chance of finishing a book when reading it.

5 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: July 17-23

  1. I agree with needing to take your time and go back and read. I do miss things too because I lose concentration,

    Terrific answer…thanks.

    Your reading challenges are amazing. I can barely make my goal of 50 books. 🙂 CONGRATS!!

    ENJOY your weekend, and thanks again for a really good answer. Glad to see you on the hop.

    Happy Hopping!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog Hop Answer

  2. Backtracking in audio is definitely a big negative. I’ve gotten where I enjoy them over the last year or so but I can definitely see how it doesn’t work for everyone. I prefer a female narrator for fiction books because it works better for a female to read a male voice than vice versa for some reason.

Leave a Reply

