Review: Manga Classics: Emma

Manga Classics: Emma
Manga Classics: Emma by Stacy King

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Manga versions of classics – a pretty good idea if you ask me, as I am a big fan of manga. And Emma is one of my favorite classics. So, naturally I couldn’t resist this one.

As for the story, I need not elaborate Austen’s wonderful classic tale. This manga stays pretty faithful to the storyline, and is a good summary of the story, with key events covered and rendered with the same flair as Austen did. It was delightful to refresh the story, with this manga.

But along with story and progression, a good manga/graphic novel has to have good artwork too. Half of the charm for me when I read a visual representation of a story, is how it is rendered. The artwork, in this case, did not satisfy me. I felt it was a bit crude, not the beauty that I’ve come to expect from manga/manhwa. The artist hasn’t utilized the full scope of possibilities when it comes to such a story. I expected lush backgrounds, beautiful art, but it was just not up to the mark.

For the story and plot, I loved this book. But the artwork disappointed me.

Received a free ARC from Udon Entertainment via Netgalley; this does not influence my opinions or review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

