Review: Seeker

Seeker Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Quin Kincaid has been put through years of brutal training for what she thinks is the noble purpose of becoming a revered ‘Seeker’. Only when it’s too late does she discover she will be using her new-found knowledge and training to become an assassin. Quin’s new role will take her around the globe, from a remote estate in Scotland to a bustling, futuristic Hong Kong where the past she thought she had escaped will finally catch up with her. I took way too long to finish this book – and this was the first sign that shows I am not a big fan of it. Honestly, I have pretty much nothing to say, except that I found it have a pretty slow and torturous start – which couldn’t even be compensated by that marvelous and epic climax. As the book progressed, it got more interesting, but only because I decided to stick with the book and finish it. (I don’t pass judgement or review on a book until I completely read it, so…) I think what made it more interesting was once the Seekers’ ‘mission’ was revealed to be non-alturistic. Until then, I kinda wanted to slap Quin for her naive hero complex. Throughout the book, actually, she was pretty irritating. Then there was John, the hero-turned-antagonist (I don’t care about spoilers at the moment, okay? I’m too disappointed in this book to care about that), the eternal whiny kid who thinks an eye for an eye won’t make the world blind. The whole book is like ‘John, no!’ and John going ‘John, yes’. Shinobu was pretty good but wasted as a druggie in the later half of the book. His and Quin’s romance didn’t make any sense – particularly from her side. She suddenly wakes up and realizes – oh my god, my half third-something cousin is freaking hot! Heavens, spare me this melodrama! What I liked – Maud and the Dreads. Seriously, their story was much better than the main arc. That is why I gave this book 3 stars – that was good world-building there, for the Dreads at least. I hope the sequel has more on the origin of the Seekers than that doomed love triangle, because I’m so over it. Received an ARC from Delacorte Books for Young Readers via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

