Review: the wicked and the divine: The Faust Act

the wicked and the divine: The Faust Act
the wicked and the divine: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to create a world where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever.

The only things I liked about the book – the concept and the art. Really, it was for these two reasons that I even completed the book. From the start itself, the story is confusing, and it felt like I had some intermediate sequel or something (this is an omnibus of the first five books) and while I was attracted by the art, it could not distract me from the fact that essential world-building is left unattended. Where do the Gods come from, where do they go in the meanwhile, why can’t they do more than parlour tricks, and honestly, why do they want to be pop idols? The story is going nowhere even for the characters, and the protagonist is boring. Honestly, one of the worst graphic novels I’ve read.

Received an ARC from Image Comics via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: the wicked and the divine: The Faust Act

  1. Ah omg yes! I just started this and I feel like Im reading the 4th book in a 10 part series or something :|. I wanted to see if it gets better….but I guess not after reading your reviews its too bad bc it love he art and the concept/premise a lot. Not sure if I’ll even be finishing this one..thanks for the review though!
    -Diamond @ Dee’s Reads

Leave a Reply

