ARC Review: Anomaly

Anomaly
Anomaly by Tonya Kuper
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Release date: November 25, 2014

Worst. Birthday. Ever.

My first boyfriend dumped me—happy birthday, Josie!—my dad is who knows where, I have some weird virus that makes me want to hurl, and now my ex is licking another girl’s tonsils. Oh, and I’m officially the same age as my brother was when he died. Yeah, today is about as fun-filled as the swamps of Dagobah. But then weird things start happening…

Like I make something materialize just by thinking about it.

When hottily-hot badass Reid Wentworth shows up on a motorcycle, everything changes. Like, everything. Who I am. My family. What really happened to my brother. Existence. I am Oculi, and I have the ability to change reality with my thoughts. Now Reid, in all his hotness, is charged with guiding and protecting me as I begin learning how to bend reality. And he’s the only thing standing between me and the secret organization that wants me dead…

Blurb-wise, I was excited because it sounded close to Haruhi Suzumiya series by Tanigawa-sensei. When I started reading, I was excited because the story is action-filled, like, right from start to finish. The writing, though, was regularly putting a dampener on the fun – with cliched lines and over-use of geek references, which feels like the book is trying too hard. Josie is vivacious and fierce, but isn’t rendered really well. There was a lot of ambiguity as to how her character was presented – with distinction in the first and second half. The romance element, well, it did not endear me either. Reid is, ugh, boring and honestly, Santos would have made a better match, even with whatever happened at the end.

The world-building was good, and the almost-magic like ability was also well-explained as canon. I just had one doubt – during a fight, why don’t they just Push a blindfold onto their opponent’s eyes? If the ability works on observation, should making the person temporarily blind halt their abilities? The ending was okay, but mostly the entire book was action-packed and that was the highlight. The fight sequences were well-written, almost able to render it realistically in the mind. A good sci-fi read, but the sequel better be better.

Received an ARC from Entangled Teen via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

