Lessons I Never Learned at Meadowbrook Academy: Blog Tour + Giveaway

LINLAMA_banner

Welcome to my stop on the Lessons I never learned at Meadowbrook Academy Blog Tour!

Today, Liz will be talking about who her inspirations are in the genre of Young Adult. But first, a little about the book:

Lessons I Never Learned at Meadowbrook Academy (Small)The most important lessons aren’t learned in the classroom.

It’s the first day of sophomore year for Roberta Romano, but instead of the comfort of her local high school, she’s been thrust into the elitist embrace of the affluent Meadowbrook Academy.
 
Surrounded by wealth, Roberta battles her own insecurities to prove her worth and maybe land the boy of her dreams. With the help of two unlikely allies—and an inflatable toy raft—Roberta embarks upon a journey of dark secrets and self-discovery to learn the true meaning of friendship and acceptance. 
 
“Roberta will charm and delight you with a voice that’s candid, hilarious, and hopeful, as she narrates her first day at a new high school, reminding us of the epic nature of each hour in our adolescent lives. Lessons I Never Learned at Meadowbrook Academy will make you laugh, cringe, cry, and cheer for the power of friendships that can change us in a single day.” —Ava Dellaira, author of Love Letters to the Dead

“Liz Maccie’s debut novel is as tough, optimistic, and beautiful as her heroine, Roberta Romano. Roberta’s voice is heartfelt and funny. Her story is exceptionally moving and honest. I love this book and the hope it has for young women everywhere.” —Stephen Chbosky, New York Times bestselling author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“You wish your first day of prep school was this epic! Every single page of Lessons I Never Learned sparkles with heart and humor. Like a teenage Bridget Jones, Roberta Romano will make you laugh, cry, and cringe as she tries to navigate her first day at Meadowbrook Academy. She finds friends and enemies, earns detentions and serious respect, and makes memories that will last her a lifetime.” —Siobhan Vivian, author of The List

AUTHOR BIO

Author photo

Liz Maccie was born and raised in New Jersey and attended Bucknell University.  After college, she moved out to Los Angeles to pursue a career in film and television writing.  She has had two movies produced, “The Thirst” and “Black and Blue.”  She went on to work at The Disney Channel until she found a home at the breakout ABC Family show, “Make it or Break it.”  She is currently adapting the wildly popular YA book, “The List” for MTV as a television show.  “Lessons” is Liz’s debut novel.

Facebook | Website | Twitter | Purchase the book

GUEST POST

100% Stephen Chbosky who wrote, “Perks of Being a Wallflower,” was hands down my biggest influence.  My old roommate from college was from Chbosky’s hometown and her mom had sent her a copy of the book.  She then had passed it onto me and ever since then it became a bible to me.  That book made me want to be a writer.  I felt that it was so real and honest and I one day wanted to write my own version of something real and honest.

There are times in your life that you are ready to be changed.  That you are ready to be influenced by something bigger.  I believe that “Perks” was cosmically brought to me when I was at a very dark time in my life.  I felt very alone.  And misunderstood.  Most of the people in my life knew a very different version of me.  To them I was happy and go-lucky.  But I was really suffering inside.  “Perks” became a friend to me.  It became a companion to my feelings.  It honored my pain.  And it never disappointed me.  Charlie, Sam, and Patrick were always there for me and they really helped me heal.  In so many ways books can be extremely cathartic.  They somehow give us the permission to have compassion towards our own lives.  I’m sure anyone reading this right now probably has a book that means as much to them as “Perks” meant to me. 

And of course there are also such other WONDERFUL YA authors.  I love Laurie Halse Anderson’s, “Speak.”  “Looking for Alaska,” by John Green is another favorite.  And I simply devoured, “The List,” by Siobhan Vivian.  Another fairly new book, “Love Letters to the Dead,” by Ava Dellaira has become a fast favorite.  I found Anthony Breznican’s, “Brutal Youth,” to be immensely powerful and truly captivating, just a phenomenal book.  And of course, Jay Asher’s, “13 Reasons Why,” is stunning.  I simply love the YA genre and think it houses some of the absolute best books out there.

GIVEAWAY

 Enter your details at this link to win one of three e-copies (you’ll get a redemption code) of The Lessons I never learned at Meadowbrook Academy. International! Contest runs till Nov 14.

Leave a Reply

