Review: Teardrop

Teardrop
Teardrop by Lauren Kate

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Never, ever cry… Seventeen-year-old Eureka won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain. After her mother was killed in a freak accident, the things she used to love hold no meaning. She wants to escape, but one thing holds her back: Ander, the boy who is everywhere she goes, whose turquoise eyes are like the ocean. And then Eureka uncovers an ancient tale of romance and heartbreak, about a girl who cried an entire continent into the sea. Suddenly her mother’s death and Ander’s appearance seem connected, and her life takes on dark undercurrents that don’t make sense. Can everything you love be washed away?

Ah, Teardrop – why did you disappoint me so? I went in with my love for Kate’s writing and came out wondering what happened to her beautiful style of writing romance. When did it get so cliche – Fallen was a hundred times better than this, and that dealt with reincarnation as a plot device. Teardrop, while focused on mythology and Eureka(why this name?), is infested with cheesy insta-love and yearning and teenage angst. Honestly, if the mythology wasn’t genius enough to keep me entertained, I was ready to wash my hands off this book.

So, Eureka is capable of raising Atlantis if she cries, but she isn’t aware of this fact. (Great job on that, Diana! Way to keep your daughter out of the loop) She only knows that her mother ordered her to never ever cry, and that she is a big believer in Stoicism. This works out quite well for the rest of the world, as it can continue it’s existence without a deluge drowning it. But lo! There are survivors of Atlantis – two enemy factions, both dangerous for her and both at opposites on whether Atlantis should be raised or not. She basically has a target painted on her back by the no-Atlantis faction, to which Ander belongs. They call themselves Seedbearers and are a bunch of sociopathic (I am assuming since I haven’t read the novella yet) wind-controllers whose only job has been to murder innocent girls for the ‘greater good’. Other faction is the King Atlantis himself, whose motive and nature wasn’t made clear in the backstory (what did he need saving from??) but whom we will just go with the flow and assume is evil and wants to rule the wold, blah blah. Ander keeps popping up like a stalker (he really is one) and her best friend Brooks is all territorial-male-asshead. Now if you put two and two together, you know it is going to be a love triangle. If you are trained in the art of deciphering clues in YA, you also know why Brooks is acting like that. Lot of angst, I remind you and lots of heavy and meaningful glances, and lots of he-gets-me-so-well. (By this point, you must have realized I don’t give a rat’s ass about either couple – I want freaking Atlantis!)

In the end, the mythology is the saving grace of the book. It is quite different, and does not take any influence from Greek mythology (I almost thought Poseidon was going to be involved). It’s a whole different universe created and here I was reassured of Kate’s brilliance. I was confused about the Zephyr and link between the Seedbearers, though, and lots of the backstory wasn’t completely explained. I am hoping the sequels will make more sense and maybe we get more action, because this was damn slow. I liked how Eureka’s psychological state was presented, and empathize with her feeling of loss and hopelessness. It gave way to a good character arc, which sadly was only restricted to her. Ander, Brooks or Cat didn’t get the same treatment, and Cat in particular didn’t make much sense as a best friend either. My advice for this book – proceed with caution. Lots of lovey-dovey moments, and I have warned those averse to mush, beforehand, okay? But if you are a big fan of romance and magic, go for it!

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Teardrop

  1. It stinks that the book was predictable. However, my students LOVE novels with mythology so this is one that I’d like to have on my classroom shelf.

Leave a Reply

