Book Blogger Hop: September 26-Oct 2

 

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Coffee Addicted Writer

This week’s question is:

How will be reading in 100 year’s time? Will there be any printed books left? How about e-readers? What might they look like?

My Answer:

I think printed books are as threatened by ereaders as stairs are by elevators. Seriously, even 100 years in the future we will have adorable bookworms who will swear by the smell of a fresh book (or an old one). So, printed books will be there but I guess the majority of the population will convert to e-readers for convenience. Hardcore book addicts would probably still have a bookshelf or two, provided the Earth isn’t destroyed by humanity by then. As for e-readers, maybe we might have holographic screens by then,

which would probably project from some wrist device or something? We might also have virtual book-like holograms for those who love to see a printed book…who knows? Or maybe contacts in the eyes which double as screens for reading too?

The possibilities are endless!

 

7 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: September 26-Oct 2

  1. My aunt collects old typewriters. When one of her nieces was younger (not me) she asked what it was, as computers had taken over by then. This always pops into my head when a new ereader comes out. Hopefully, books will never have to meet that day.

  2. Now that would be quite interesting to have holograms. I want print, though. 🙂 🙂

    Your entire answer is very interesting…thanks for sharing. Love your comparison of the stairs to the elevators. Thanks.

    Love your comment about typewriters, Whitney. I taught typing on manual typewriters back in the 70’s. We had 40 students in one room clicking and clacking but learning the important skill of typing.

    Thanks for your great post.

    Happy Hopping!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog Hop Answer

    • It’s just something that stuck with me – the stairs and the elevators thing.

      As for the typewriters, I wouldn’t say they are entirely gone. I myself had learnt typing on it even though we had a PC at home. In fact, the class I went to is still running and still has plenty of students, showing that typewriters aren’t dead yet.

Leave a Reply

