Review: The Hundred

The Hundred
The Hundred by Kass Morgan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In the future, humans live in citylike spaceships orbiting far above Earth’s toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland…before it’s too late.

Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they’ve only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they’re haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust-and even love-again.

The 100 was a book on my TBR for quite some time and the fact that there is a show too got me interested even more. The basic premise of The 100 is the recolonization of the Earth after a nuclear event rendered it unlivable. The survivors who are now living in the space station/Colony are down on resources and want to recolonize the Earth. Not knowing how safe it is, they decide to send a hundred juvenile delinquents (quite loosely used because not everybody’s infraction was major)as lab rats and man, that makes me think what is it with dystopian worlds always going after the teens. What did they ever do to you? The Hunger Games? Teens being sent into death. Starters? Teens being used as dolls. In the future, being a teen is risky business, I tell you.

Anyway, back to the story – I had assumed it would be more on the survival. The three episodes I had seen prior to reading this certainly pointed to that. However, it is more on the characters and their demons. Around half the book is dedicated to random flashbacks, which on the screen, would translate wonderfully, but while reading gave me a headache trying to keep the timelines straight. Don’t get me wrong – I love when there are character back-stories. It gives them depth and we can understand where they are coming from. Clarke’s story was, by far, the most interesting. There are four POV and I found Bellamy’s the most interesting, though. There is something about the voice in which he is written that makes it just right. Glass, is somewhat boring with the rich-girl-poor-boy story and I hope her POV will be more than just letting us know what is happening on the ship. Lastly, Wells – the tortured lovelorn puppy – he doesn’t get a break. He kinda deserves Clarke’s hatred towards him but she is also a bit harsh with the ‘you kill everything you touch’. Overall, though, I feel Morgan made the characters come alive very realistically – I especially loved their reactions to the first sunset they see on Earth. It was beautifully written and makes you wish to know that kind of wonder.

The writing was good – I was so lost in the words I did not know when I came to the end of the book. The pacing was also perfect and I didn’t feel bored at any time. There was, however, a lack of action and the whole survival thing was not confronted adequately in my opinion. Firstly, how did all the teens survive without going into an anaphylatic shock (fancy word for allergy)? They had filtered air on the ship! At least one kid should have bit it because his body wouldn’t have been able to take up all the new allergens they face in a forest! There wasn’t a clear antagonist except the ones mentioned at the end – which makes me think the next one will at least devote a little more to their survival. So, while the book had good characterization and writing, I feel it lacked in some aspects like danger. It felt more like setting the story and while that is good, I feel you wouldn’t be really afraid for them until the end. 3.5 stars for this one.

Received an ARC from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers via Netgalley. This in no way affects my opinion or the review.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The Hundred

Leave a Reply

