Review: Only Everything

Only Everything
Only Everything by Kieran Scott
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Sometimes the gods can be so unreasonable.

Like Zeus, the king, who thinks the proper reaction to finding me kissing a mortal is to threaten my boyfriend Orion’s life, banish me to Earth, and force me to inspire true love between three couples without my powers. I know! Elders! I’m Eros, a.k.a. Cupid. The Goddess of Love. Until this morning, anyway.

Now I’m stuck on Earth with no clue how to function as a human, and I can’t even conjure up my magical bow and arrows to help me do my job. I’ve already met this amazing guy—Charlie, a new kid in school like me—but matching him up isn’t as easy as I thought. Turns out opposites don’t attract, nearly identicals don’t attract, and giving a guy what he seems to want is just one big disaster. My sweet new friend Katrina might work, but she’s got more complications than Medusa’s hair, and a live-in boyfriend with a serious mean streak. Probably not the best idea to go there.

If I don’t make a match, I may never see Orion again. I have so much to lose, and only everything to gain.

Only Everything is like a typical boy-meets-girl story, but with the addition of a goddess Eros, who has been banished to Earth as punishment for loving a mortal. Yeah, Eros is female and the Greek pantheon punishment makes no sense considering the extent of affairs the Greek gods have had. So Eros is now True, a goddess-turned-mortal with a deadline to get three couples together (which you know is going to spin into a trilogy) who is fumbling without her powers. Match-making is not so much fun when you can’t read hearts and millennia of experience in love doesn’t come handy quickly enough. So, ultimately it takes a lot of trial and error for her to get two kids together.

As far as the characters go, I love Scott’s potrayal. True is quirky and is totally the goddess type – it’s in her nature to look down on mortals and now among them, she has a tough time, making a lot of faux pas and basically offending people left and right. For a goddess of love, she is quite dense when it comes to identifying potential couples. There seems more to her punishment than just falling in love with a mortal but I guess that is a story for another book. Additionally, we also get the POV of the couple in question, so it is quite adorable to read from their perspective. Katrina embodies the role of a good-girl-fallen-in-with-bad-crowd while Charlie is the I-want-to-prove-myself category. Katrina, I felt for her – she is lonely and tries to seek love where she gets it. Charlie, on the other hand, is the good guy but doesn’t know the right thing. His mismatches thanks to True are hilarious. Zeus, is, as usual, the d-bag of every greek mythology novel so no surprise there. Aphrodite is the socialite mommy – doesn’t care about her kids much. Orion, well, he needs to seen, as well as Artemis, who I feel will play a major role in the next one?

What was disappointing in this story was that it was too predictable. There is a good predictable and there is just putting all the clues into words. It was too simple in writing, for a story that could have done with a few more layers. I know it is supposed to be light and fun but there are darker undertones like the ones with the gods’ past that could have been explored more. I enjoyed the book immensely but I really expected more from the author of the Private series.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Only Everything

Leave a Reply

