Review: Revealed

Revealed
Revealed by P.C. Cast
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Drastically altered after her fall at the end of HIDDEN, Neferet is now more dangerous than ever – and her quest for vengeance will wreak havoc on humans as well as Zoey and her friends. Chaos is loosed in Tulsa and the House of Night is blamed. Can Zoey stop Neferet in time to keep her anger from escalating to full-on war? Or will someone else have to step in to take the fall?

When I started the House of Night, it was this fresh YA vampire-Wiccan series, with a great world-building and good story set-up. Over the years, I have seen the allure declining and being reduced to a pathetic girl-drama novel. The story still has potential but the lead character – honestly, she is getting annoying. I can’t take any more of Zoey’s boy drama – I get that High Priestesses can have more than one lover at a time and I am not even judgey about the polyandrous relationships, but honestly, with all the death and destruction going around, how can she devote brain time to boy drama? Even Neferet is sounding better than her when it comes to character complexity. All I see in Zoey is an eager-to-please attitude, trying to be the perfect High Priestess while basically letting the power get to her head. The boys in the series have all been reduced to testosterone-filled Warriors, and it gets old pretty fast. Very few characters now hold my interest at all, and if it wouldn’t have been multiple POV, I would have thrown the book across the room because I can take only this much of Zoey’s bull-headedness. Aphrodite is a bitchy brat like always, Stevie Rae is bearable but most of the other characters are just tiresome. And I won’t even start with their dialogue – they sound like they are trying too hard to sound like teenagers, resulting in stilted, forced conversations. Also at one point of time, I adored this series for being pro-feminist but now I see it all reduced to a giant catfight between Neferet and Zoey. I mean, honestly, what are the others twiddling their thumbs for. Thanatos has potential as a character – she is strong, ruthless and quite apt for being the High Priestess of House of Night, and seeing Zoey being a jerk to her just made me sad. Honestly, I am now only reading the series because it is about to finish – that’s all.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: Revealed

  1. Yeah… I used to enjoy this series. I started reading it when there were three books (I mistook it for a trilogy), and I had to stop about two or three books ago. I can’t stand static characters or repeated mistakes; I mean, how many times can you hide something from everyone, get caught, fess up, and promise to never do it again?

Leave a Reply

