Review: Killer Frost

Killer Frost
Killer Frost by Jennifer Estep
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve battled the Reapers of Chaos before–and survived. But this time I have a Bad, Bad Feeling it’s going to be a fight to the death … most likely mine.

Yeah, I’ve got my psychometry magic, my talking sword, Vic–and even the most dangerous Spartan on campus at my side, in Logan freaking Quinn, but I’m no match for Loki, the evil Norse god of chaos. I may be Nike’s Champion, but at heart, I’m still just Gwen Frost, that weird Gypsy girl everyone at school loves to gossip about.

Then someone I love is put in more danger than ever before, and something inside me snaps. This time, Loki and his Reapers are going down for good … or I am.

It was with great excitement and a bit of trepidation that I started with Killer Frost. I have loved this series so much all these years and now this is the final book, so it is obvious I would be a bit sad. I’ve seen Gwen grow from a simple girl with psychometric powers into a fierce warrior deserving of the title of Nike’s Champion. Granted, the books had a lot of repetition in the form of the Reapers attacking all the time (which was even made fun of in this book – very meta), the lack of real security in Mythos Academy and the Harry Potter allusions but it was an amazing journey so far.

The best part of the series is that it unites almost every mythology that we know about and spins it into one tale. The pantheon of Gods, the legendary warriors and their descendants, the good old fight between light and dark – it was all so neatly woven into an adventure. The Second Chaos War looms with Loki getting more powerful than ever and it is now upto Gwen to find a way to defeat them. The plot is very fast-paced and action-centric, which considering it deals with warriors, is natural, of course. The writing flows smoothly along with the pace – the dialogues, however, not so much. I did find most of the battle-dialogue between Vivian and Gwen quite cliche at most times – they taunt each other nearly the same lines in every book. Even Vic and Lucretia get tiresome at times.

Keeping that aside, the story development in this book showed great improvement – the role of Guardians, the secret to killing Loki, the dynamics between Logan and Gwen (the romance was cut short, though) and finally the Second Chaos War. The ending was very satisfactory and wrapped things up well enough. A great ending to a wonderful series.

Received a copy from Kensington books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

