Top Ten Tuesday: Resolutions for 2014

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. This week’s meme is resolution/goals for 2014. Honestly, I am not one for new year resolutions – I mostly forget about them within a few days. I keep setting goals for myself throughout the year rather than waiting around for New Year to do that. However, this year I am in a mood to at least list out some resolution for myself – bookish or not.

1. Read review books on time

I really need to organize my review books, make some lists or something because I never remember which one is releasing soon and NEEDS to be read ASAP. Last year, I forgot about one book, the review copy of it expired and it got archived – so even though I wanted to read it, I lost the chance to read an ARC. Here’s hoping that doesn’t happen again.

2. More new series

With the review copies and sequels and novels and what not, I didn’t get to start too many series, especially the completed ones which I could have, like Shiver trilogy or Wither trilogy. Another regret was that I didn’t yet start on the Raven Cycle or the Shatter Me series.

3. Read more contemporary

Fantasy and dystopian is good, but I really need to read more contemporary fiction. Need to get started on the Sarah Dessen novels I have (I have read only ‘Whatever happened to Goodbye’ so far) as well as some John Green novels that have been too long on my TBR. I have my eye on quite some interesting contemporary novels and really should get started on them.

4. Classics

One classic fiction per month – I made this same resolution last year but need to get serious about it. I am reading retellings but not the originals, which is a crying shame!

5. Buy more printed books

Seriously, I rely too much on e-books, and with my new tablet, I barely read printed books now. Not that there is anything wrong with digital copies – in fact, I prefer them because of cost; with the amount of books I read, printed books were not an option earlier (I started working recently) and the only printed books I read were library ones or the occasional purchases. But all that is going to change now since I have fallen in love with the idea of an actual real bookshelf! It feels good and nothing compares to curling up with a book.

6. Turn my friends into avid readers

Okay, first I need to turn them into readers; the avid part comes later. I will drag everybody into Nerd-topia!

7. For the love of God, start on the longer series!

Older longer series like Sookie Stackhouse novels, Women of the Otherworld and even the Game of Thrones series – I need to start on them and the only thing stopping me is the length. Trilogies have spoiled me rotten; gotta break that habit.

8. Don’t look at the length of the TBR

It is scary, damn scary to even imagine how I am going to read ALL of the books. So, I won’t look at the number next to the (to-read) shelf, ignore it and hopefully it will lessen. 😉

9. Try new genres

Steampunk, maybe? Any suggestions on genres or books? I read mostly fantasy, paranormal, mythological, dystopian or sci-fi.

10. Create fan art

Pick up those lovely new color pencils (which have still not been used from months) and sketch out those awesome ideas in my mind.

What are your resolutions?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Resolutions for 2014

  1. Same! Same! 😀 I’m also planning on reading contemporaries this year. I think 2014 will be the year of contemporaries! (for me) I’m also planning on buying at least 10 books this year (I’m poor that’s why) But, one of my biggest goals this year is be more organize, I’m not good at remembering dates, that’s why I always forget I have a arc to review or read. 😀

Leave a Reply

