Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. 2013 is at an end and with all the debut authors that I’ve read, there were also a few authors that I had read for the first time this year. So, my list will exclude debut authors and instead focus on the authors I’ve read for the first time in 2013. Let’s start:

1. John Green

Yes, I am a bit ashamed to admit I first read The Fault in our Stars this year and then went on to read Looking for Alaska. I admit I regret not reading him sooner but I kind of had a prejudice against male authors writing YA, especially in a female protagonist’s voice because I felt they can’t do justice to a teen girl. (In my defense, this was because of J L Bryan) Boy, was I wrong! Both his books were beautiful renditions of a teen soul and I will soon pick up his other books to read.

2. Maria V Snyder

I think I mentioned earlier in another TTT post how she shook my aversion to high fantasy. I love her writing and after the Study and Glass series, I will start with Healer next year.

3. Beth Revis

Okay, I waited for her because AtU was a trilogy and I thought I’ll wait a few months and read the complete series at once. Splendid experience! I wish I would have read her sooner but then the wait for each book would have nearly driven me insane.

4. Melissa Marr

I regret not reading her earlier the most. The Wicked Lovely was such a beautiful series and they really deserved to have been read as soon as I found out about them, but I was suffering from Fey hangover thanks to the Iron Fey series and didn’t touch another fey book for a long time.

5. Veronica Roth

I purposely waited till this year to read Divergent because I didn’t want to wait too long for Allegiant. I had heard Insurgent had a shocking ending and to alleviate the anxiety, decided not to start with it. Ignorance is bliss, right?

6. Sarah J Maas

Technically, her book released in 2012 so it’s not like I read Throne of Glass very late and anyway, I got to read the novellas before starting the actual series so no harm done!

7. Mira Grant

Okay, I read about her Feed series being awesome but I hadn’t read any zombie books until this year (Warm Bodies) so the first book I read of hers was Parasite. I will be reading the Feed soon, now that I am over my disgust for zombie books (I honestly thought I would dislike gore).

8. Laini Taylor

Another author I didn’t read too late actually but I was seeing all this Daughter of Smoke & Bone everywhere and though it was on my TBR, it was way down the list (in terms of adding sequence) so I didn’t start it until one day I was just having a book hangover. Best decision ever. I honestly won’t ever be able to praise her writing – it’s like music to read and dark twilight dreams in your mind.

9. Aimee Carter

Ah, I still have to start with the Goddess series but I started with the Blackcoat Rebellion series’ first book, Pawn this year and I loved her style of writing. Looks like Goddess series is going to jump the list on my TBR soon.

10. Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky – another book I wanted to read but books were above it in terms of priority so I kept putting it off. Glad I finally read it this year.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

  1. Ah! Laini Taylor is absolutely AMAZING! I am glad you got to her book(s)- I wish that for everyone because she really… I have no words for how incredible her books are. I am itching for the release of the third and final book of the DoS&B trilogy- Dreams of Gods & Monsters… must… have!

Leave a Reply

