Top Ten Tueday: Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. This week’s theme is covers you wish to redesign.

Covers, they aren’t just graphics put together. Whoever said ‘don’t judge a book by it’s cover’ did not have much imagination, I guess. A cover gives a definition of the book – a reader glances and can deduce what genre and what might be the main premise just from the cover. A visually appealing cover really makes you look up the blurb. Most of the books I choose first come to my notice because of their covers – I will admit to this. And honestly, some books, especially the ones belonging to long series that have been running for a decade need better covers. Sometimes it’s just the graphic quality of the cover or maybe it doesn’t match to the story. So, here are the ones I think which should be redesigned.

Dead Witch WalkingThe Hollows series

Most of the early Hollows books – say, up to book 8 – need to be redesigned. The books are awesome but the covers just don’t just match it. All that leather and short skirts – yeah, Rachel does wear a bit of provocative clothing at times, but mostly she wears her trusty leather pants, and that too just because it protects her skin when she falls or something, which in her line of work, happens quite a lot. Book 9 onwards, the covers were a bit better. The witchy aspects can be kept, but let’s include one or two of the secondary characters, especially if they play an important role in the story arc.

The Catastrophic History of You and MeThe Catastrophic History of You and Me

Yawn! Looks obviously photo-shopped. I mean, it is, but with those elements, they could have made a more cleaner image. Something more visually appealing.

Embrace (The Violet Eden Chapters #1)Embrace

This image is kinda weird – where are her legs? Are they not seen because she is sitting? I guess they wanted to show her wings but the whole cover is just awkward.

Katana (Katana, #1)Katana

Absolutely the wrong way to hold the katanas! Is she trying to cut herself?? It’s not even a cool pose! Something like her facing in the front would have been better. Like this:

Hallowed (Unearthly, #2)Unearthly series

I’ll admit it – I hated the covers for the entire series, especially this one. The stylized font is all nice and great but the monochromatic image in the background – an eyesore! I did however love the other (UK, I think?) editions’ covers.

Clarity (Clarity #1)Clarity

She looks so artificial – I mean, just look at her hair! Plus that skin tone – you would think she was a tropical vampire or something. Awful cover. Real hair in the redesign, please.

Jenny Pox (The Paranormals #1)Jenny Pox

What is with that pose? It looks really uncomfortable. I can’t even understand what the birds have got to do with the cover.

Catching Suki (Lila, #0.5)Catching Suki

For a girl who reads minds and loves it, why is she covering her ears? WHY????

Vengeance (Transcend Time, #1.5)Vengeance

Weird pose covers. Plus, couldn’t they make the nail polish match the mask? Sorry to nitpick.

‘I am visualizing my desires. Oh wait, is my lip gloss okay?’

Shadow of the Mark (Carrier, #2)Shadow of the Mark

Visually, there is nothing wrong with the cover. But when you compare it to the first one, Carrier of the Mark, you realize it’s the same one, just with a different color for the dress and more smoke at the bottom. Lazy much?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tueday: Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

  1. I think for Jenny Pox, she’s kind of holding herself for comfort, and the birds are falling out of the sky, dead, to show her killer status. Only I’m pretty sure she had to touch people to infect them… Definitely weird. I read this as an eBook and didn’t even notice the cover.

    • Yeah she could infect people with a plague by a single touch. The other cover in the series are even more terrible and let’s not even discuss the last one, Jenny Plague-bringer.

Leave a Reply

