Top Ten Tuesday: Character Names I Love

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish, where bloggers list out their Top Ten every week. This week’s theme is Character Names I Love/ Unusual Character Names. I like unusual names – particularly for how they sound – as long as they don’t sound pretentious or too exotic to pronounce. Of course, fantasy novels always have the unheard-of names and you will see that most of my list consists of characters from them. Here’s my top ten in no particular order:

Hermione Granger

From – Harry Potter series by J K Rowling

I always pronounced this wrong until Hermione herself mentioned the correct pronunciation in the books. A very unusual name and has quite a nice ring to it. It suits her – isn’t too girly, seems a bit old and not silly.

Schuyler van Alen

From – Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

I like names that don’t sound the way the way they are written. Logically, I would pronounce this as schoo-lar but it’s actually Sky-lar – and I feel it really suits her. It sounds regal, which given her heritage, is not ordinary.

Chaol Westfall

From – Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Okay, I partly love this name because I am in love with this character. Plus, again I thought his name was pronounced like chaos but I read somewhere that it is like Kale.

Celeste Parker

From – Full Moon series by Ellen Screiber

French for celestial, this name particularly suits this character because it is a werewolf story. Moon – werewolf, get it?

Lucinda Price

From – Fallen series by Lauren Kate

Her name is pretty much the big clue since the Outcasts think she is the ‘price’ they have to pay to return to heaven. Plus, the possibilities of similar sounding names (like Lucy) meant she had quite some of those during her many lifetimes.

Neferet

From – House of Night by P C Cast & Kristin Cast

I think it has been derived from Nefertiti – a name which I really like and an Egyptian Pharaoh I really adore since I read the book by Michelle Moran – and it sounds pretty cool, for a name which she took herself.

Tristan Thorn

From – Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Quite an oldish kind of name, it has a nice sound. Enough said.

Dru Anderson

From – Strange Angels by Lili St.Crow

Till the end, it wasn’t revealed what ‘dru’ was short for and perhaps the name is memorable to me for that reason. Sounds quite boy-like (not being sexist here) which suits Dru, a kickass hunter.

Watanuki Kimihiro

From  – xxxHOLiC by CLAMP

Okay, this one is from a manga/anime series and his name is unique in that it is written with the same characters as that of his date of birth – April 1. In fact, Mokona (another character) teases him frequently by calling him out ‘Shigatsu (April) Tsuitachi (1st) no (of) Watanuki’. With such a name, how can you forget the birthday? 😉

Algaliarept

From – Hollows series by Kim Harrison

Quite a mouthful, right? Most of the time, Rachel calls him Al because tough name, dude but I like Algaliarept. Sounds old and exotic.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Character Names I Love

    • Oh, I wouldn’t say I had no trouble at all – I was working on this for a whole week.
      And your list is amazing. I can’t understand how I did not include Karou in the list! It’s such an awesome name!

Leave a Reply

