Review: Hyouka (light novel)

氷菓
氷菓 by Yonezawa Honobu
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I got interested in Hyouka from the anime recs I had come across in the manga community and on Tumblr (thank you!). At first I thought it to be a generic high school story but the interesting thing about Hyouka is its main lead, Oreki Houtarou, who is a genius at deductive reasoning, though he considers himself to be a lazy and average person. Actually, his laziness can also be seen as efficiency – he isn’t a sloth, he just does what is necessary and does it quickly. His best friend, Fukube Satoshi, on the other hand is an enthusiastic person who is into school activities and gossip. Houtarou is told by his older sister to join the Classics Club so that it doesn’t get scrapped due to lack of members. Though unwillingly, he succumbs to his sister’s wishes and meets Chitanda Eru, an intelligent and inquisitive girl who just can’t let a mystery left without getting its solution – for which she keeps turning to Oreki for his smart brain. Together, these three solve everyday mysteries while also finding out the past of the Classics Club. The characters are quite diverse and all of them complement each other so much. It’s cute and serious at the same time. I also started watching the anime and am loving that too.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Hyouka (light novel)

  1. Oh, Hyoka sounds really interesting. I like anime and the main character sounds a lot like me. I’m really no genius though 😛 I think I’ll have to check it out. Maybe the anime as well. Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

