Top Ten Tuesday: Best/Worst Series Enders

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten. This week’s meme is Best/Worst Series Enders, which could be interpreted as 10 best series enders or 10 worst series enders or even a mix of both, so I am doing 5 of each. Trust me, even 5 was difficult to come up with, especially in the worst enders one, as I have read only 70 series completely – most of them so long back (even a year is quite long considering the amount of books I read in the interim) I don’t remember what I had felt when I read that book. So, what do I like in a series ender?

  • It should resolved most, if not all, plot conflicts. Bad guy being put to rest/eliminated/redeemed/brought to the light is a must. Protagonist should have grown considerably from the first – realization of life goals, etc is a bonus.
  • Give me a good ending, if not a happy one. I want to be assured that the characters I have come to love are safe and sound.
  • Heaven forbid if it’s an open ending – I love my finales wrapped up. If not, at least a good kind of open ending – where there is high possibility of a spinoff 😉
  • No convenient events/coincidences just to wrap things up.

Now, there might be mild spoilers here so beware. Let’s start!

Best Enders

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/2/22/Twilight_by_Meg_Cabot_cover.jpg  https://i1.wp.com/4.bp.blogspot.com/__Kcv6C8txKQ/TQD-sRJoT5I/AAAAAAAAAWg/02h6MMOnBhQ/s1600/last%2Bsacrifice.jpg

Twilight had a good resolution and with the awesome surprise ending it had, I loved it. Same goes for Last Sacrifice – I was extremely happy with the ending of the book.

https://i0.wp.com/3.bp.blogspot.com/-t-Bj_d9L5Co/URHAWW0iSuI/AAAAAAAACtY/ZDZHr3tlkj8/s1600/shades.jpg  https://i2.wp.com/images2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20120711053655/mortalinstruments/images/4/4b/CP2_cover.jpg

Shades of Earth was written well beyond my expectations – I couldn’t have envisioned a better ending for this book. Same for Clockwork Princess – also, the way the love triangle was handled? Kudos to Cassandra Clare.

It was everything a good ending should have – happiness for all, bad guy vanquished, peace of Earth, and so on.

Worst Enders

The meaning of worst here is not that I hated them – I loved each one of these series (with the exception of Paranormals) but found their endings unsatisfactory. The book maybe written well but endings can be awful too.

https://i1.wp.com/d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1340992438l/9593913.jpg  https://i1.wp.com/d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1341101753l/10468701.jpg

Great books but the open endings left me feeling unsatisfied. It’s like – what next? There has to be more to the story!

https://i0.wp.com/d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1349068745l/15764212.jpg  https://i1.wp.com/d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1317793668l/9720766.jpg

Too much coincidence and convenience to wrap things up. I was not a fan of the entire Paranormals series by J L Bryan anyway (bad writing) but the way her plague touch was resolved – yeah, buddy, that’s too easy. In Sirensong, while I would like to lament over the fact that Keane never had a chance (sob), what really bugged me was how easily she got out of her deal with the Erlking. Generous much?

I totally don’t have anything against this book – beautifully written, amazing plotline – but the last ending was a disappointment. With a title having ‘cure’, I expected they at least found a cure. But no, pack up and move to a corner of the world and colonize? Something like they found a cure but weren’t able to use it in time would have been more favorable. The ending basically says – if a viral epidemic spreads, the world in screwed! No hope, buddy!

Extra mention – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

I bet you are going – Potterhead says what? It’s no secret I am a huge fan of the series but, the last battle between Harry and Voldemort in the book where he defeats him by just being the owner of the elder wand? Coincidence and convenience rolled into one – what would Harry have done if he had never disarmed Draco who had disarmed Dumbledore? Dude, he would have to fight Voldemort and when it comes to a magic duel, no love is going to save you – plain skills rule. So yeah, while I enjoyed the ending, that little thing got to me. The movie, however, at least, made a good job of having them actually duel.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best/Worst Series Enders

  1. Great list! I have read the Vampire Academy series and loved it. Definitely one of my all time favorite series. I’m glad to hear that you liked the Across the Universe series and the Wicked Lovely series. I haven’t read either series yet but am really excited to. Aww, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the endings of the Delirium trilogy and The Maze Runner trilogy. I have the first 2 books in the Delirium trilogy and the whole series of the Maze Runner including the prequel, but have yet to start either.

  2. YES! I’m with you on Last Sacrifice! That was the best series ender, heck the best series of all time. Loved it! Ooh, I’ve heard pretty bad things about requim’s open ending and I’m really glad I never started that series. Great list! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Nearly everyone HATED the ending of Requiem and I’m with that group – the ending is plain awful. It made me feel like I read the entire series for no reason because there was no resolution whatsoever.
    Great list & thanks for stopping by my TTT! (:

Leave a Reply

